We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Will Go Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Reviewed February 12, 2009

My boyfriend and I needed a getaway trip to the ocean, so we hopped in the car and started driving. We ended up in Santa Barbara and had a wonderful time and many great adventures. Because is was a spur of the moment trip we didn't have time to make reservations at any of the hotels we stayed at. We stayed at Best Western establishments each night of our stay, and were always very happy with our rooms and the hotels in general. The Carpinteria Inn is absolutely lovely and we got a very good price on a room. Customer service was awesome! The gentleman at the front desk went out of his way to assist us. We had to ask for a new room key 3 times due to the first not working, the second getting lost, and the third getting drowned in the hot tub. He was friendly and made no fuss about providing us with new keys each time. The room its self was clean with a nice shower and tub. We had plenty of room to spread out. We loved having french doors opening out onto the balcony. It rained early in the morning and we loved having the doors open and listening to the rain. The balcony overlooks the courtyard, which is absolutely beautiful. The landscaping is superb and the fountains are pretty. There are two chairs on the balcony and my boyfriend and I sat for quite a while just taking in the scenery. The night we arrived we jumped in to the hot tub for a relaxing soak. It is very small. If more than two people want to sit in it I don't think it would be too comfortable. We did notice the pool is on the other side of the hotel, which is a bit odd in my opinion. I like to switch back and forth from tub to pool and was disappointed that I could not do this. That's really my only complaint about this hotel. Breakfast is NOT included in your stay, so keep this in mind. There is a cafe in the third floor that has decent food for good prices. The service was good and if you are a tea drinker the tea selection is very good. We sat next to the windows and watched the rain. It was very relaxing. All in all a really great place to stay with great customer service. ******As a side note, if you have time, check out the beach in Carpinteria. Take a walk down the beach to the South and look for the tar oozing out of the hill side. We also found some great shells at the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hypnosisforwellness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 968 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2009

In walking distance to the beach...beautiful property and scenery. The rooms were just okay.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2008

This hotel is a lovely property and would be difficult to find fault even if you were looking. The room smelled of vomit but apart from that great building, courtyard, restaurant and pool. Housekeeping need a kick up the backside.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

We stayed at the hotel for one night while on a drive up the coast to SanFran. Nice hotel reasonably priced, Large room with king bed. Huge bathroom although a bit dated. We looked over the court yard so it was very quiet unlike the rooms facing US 101. They offer no breakfast as part of the cost. ( go to the main street which runs to the beach and eat at Essus great food ( 3/4 way down street on the right)). As an over night stay it a good choice. There is a pool and hot tub which we used and found them both clean although the hot tube could use some defoamer. Staff friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travelsof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

The Hotel was a great pick. We had court yard room that was relaxing and quiet. The hotel is clean, secure and very well maintained. This was our first time visiting the Santa Barbara area (came all the way from Wisconsin). We were very happy with the hotel and Carpinteria. Plus, take some time and check out Carpinteria. This small town has alot to offer!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Portperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Just stayed overnight at this Best Western. Had a wedding to attend in Santa Barbara but rates over the Labor Day weekend were too high for what we wanted to pay. So we settled on this place, which looked cute and quaint in the pictures on the website (and other reviews) and from the outside. The people at the front desk were hardly welcoming, they seemed bored and uninterested. Check-in was easy, but when we got to our room we saw that it was dated. The dark wood beams on the ceiling made the room appear dark and creepy and there was a big pipe going through our room near the ceiling. The bed was old and sank down a lot when you sat on it or went to lie down. I didn't even want to take a shower the next morning, the bathroom just didn't seem completely clean.

Although it was pretty easy to find from the freeway, I don't think I'd stay there again. It was also hard to get something to eat after the wedding, at about 10pm...I forgot how early every place closes on the central coast. We had to drive all the way back to SB to find an open drive-thru. I wish we shelled out the money for a nicer place, even if it was only for one night. The Fess Parker DoubleTree Resort (where the wedding was) looked super nice and we'll probably try that next time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank That_vacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Our family stayed here for two nights as a lower priced alternative to staying in Santa Barbara and we are glad we did! The location is convenient to the beach and the grounds are colorful and pleasant. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. One minor complaint is the bathroom could use an exhaust fan as things get very humid and musty after showers. We also wish this location offered a complimentary breakfast as many other BW's do. But overall we felt it was a good value for the money and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AZFamilyOf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carpinteria
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria
9.6 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
989 reviews
6.7 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
13.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
8.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn

Address: 4558 Carpinteria Avenue, Carpinteria, CA 93013-1863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carpinteria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Price Range: $110 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carpinteria Hotel Carpinteria
Carpinteria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing