We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great on nighter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carpinteria Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great on nighter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

We stayed at the hotel for one night while on a drive up the coast to SanFran. Nice hotel reasonably priced, Large room with king bed. Huge bathroom although a bit dated. We looked over the court yard so it was very quiet unlike the rooms facing US 101. They offer no breakfast as part of the cost. ( go to the main street which runs to the beach and eat at Essus great food ( 3/4 way down street on the right)). As an over night stay it a good choice. There is a pool and hot tub which we used and found them both clean although the hot tube could use some defoamer. Staff friendly and helpfull.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travelsof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    311
    160
    75
    43
See reviews for
252
307
44
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

The Hotel was a great pick. We had court yard room that was relaxing and quiet. The hotel is clean, secure and very well maintained. This was our first time visiting the Santa Barbara area (came all the way from Wisconsin). We were very happy with the hotel and Carpinteria. Plus, take some time and check out Carpinteria. This small town has alot to offer!

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Going Home
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

Just stayed overnight at this Best Western. Had a wedding to attend in Santa Barbara but rates over the Labor Day weekend were too high for what we wanted to pay. So we settled on this place, which looked cute and quaint in the pictures on the website (and other reviews) and from the outside. The people at the front desk were hardly welcoming, they seemed bored and uninterested. Check-in was easy, but when we got to our room we saw that it was dated. The dark wood beams on the ceiling made the room appear dark and creepy and there was a big pipe going through our room near the ceiling. The bed was old and sank down a lot when you sat on it or went to lie down. I didn't even want to take a shower the next morning, the bathroom just didn't seem completely clean.

Although it was pretty easy to find from the freeway, I don't think I'd stay there again. It was also hard to get something to eat after the wedding, at about 10pm...I forgot how early every place closes on the central coast. We had to drive all the way back to SB to find an open drive-thru. I wish we shelled out the money for a nicer place, even if it was only for one night. The Fess Parker DoubleTree Resort (where the wedding was) looked super nice and we'll probably try that next time.

  • Liked — Close freeway access, fairly quiet stay
  • Disliked — Staff at front desk was not about customer service, dark, gloomy, & small room, didn't feel it was worth the money I paid
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank That_vacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

Our family stayed here for two nights as a lower priced alternative to staying in Santa Barbara and we are glad we did! The location is convenient to the beach and the grounds are colorful and pleasant. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. One minor complaint is the bathroom could use an exhaust fan as things get very humid and musty after showers. We also wish this location offered a complimentary breakfast as many other BW's do. But overall we felt it was a good value for the money and would stay here again.

  • Liked — pretty landscaping and great location close to the beach
  • Disliked — no fan in bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AZFamilyOf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

Stayed there for three nights because we were in town for a wedding. We had our 3-year-old and a 2-month-old, so stayed in one of two suites they have. We were in room 301 and it smelled like something died under the sink. Plus the bathroom had no fan, so it smelled musty. We would have changed rooms, but really needed the space and moving with the kids and all our junk a hassle. Anyway, although the staff was courteous when I complained, they didn't do anything to alleviate the problem or compensate me for my troubles.

  • Liked — Close to the beach
  • Disliked — The smell under the sink
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SVmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2008

We stayed here for 1 night while visiting friends staying at Carpinteria State Beach. This is one of the nicer Best Western properties, and is about a mile from the beach in a residential area. Our room on the third floor had a vaulted ceiling and a faux balcony that you could not go out on. Our room was right along the freeway but the noise was a not a problem. Note that our room was called a two-queen bed room, but in reality had two double sized beds. The tiny pool area is in a corner of the property and almost seems like an afterthought. We'd probably stay here again if visiting the Carpinteria area

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2008

We stayed here two nights while visiting a sick aunt and uncle in Santa Barbara. The rate here was much better than any comparable hotel in Santa Barbara. This is a 5 minute hop on the freeway to get to Santa Barbara. Great location. We had an interior room and it was the quietest hotel room I have ever stayed in. We were on the 2nd floor and had doors that opened onto a deck with deck chairs that overlooked a court yard. It has a restaurant that we ate at for a late dinner snack and it was just average, but convenient. There are many restaurants, drug stores, grocery stores, etc. nearby. The pool area was small. It is an older hotel, but clean and unique. We would stay there again. In fact, we are planning on going back in June for another visit, and we will stay here again. It is a good value, especially compared to hotel rates in Santa Barbara. This hotel in Santa Barbara would be $300.00 a night. We paid $120.00.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — restaurant food
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dillon46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carpinteria
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria
13.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#14 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
15.2 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#25 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carpinteria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carpinteria Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carpinteria Inn
Address: 4558 Carpinteria Ave., Carpinteria, CA 93013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carpinteria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carpinteria Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Best Western, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carpinteria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carpinteria Hotel Carpinteria
Carpinteria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing