We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“NEVER again!”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The location of your room is everything! If I had paid more, and stayed on the top floor, overlooking the beautiful courtyard, I may have had a better experience. But, no, I was stuck on the hellish first floor. That's what I get for thinking, "I'll take the least expensive room, since it's only a one night's stay." I chose this hotel based on this hotel's reputation for a clean, efficient hotel. I wasn't expecting much, but this "hotel" was more like a "motel." Actually, I have stayed in better "motels." You can hear every laugh, cough, shower and flushed toilet. Not to mention every footstep above you (the people upstairs sounded like they were practicing for a marching band all night). I asked to be changed to a quieter room, but the staff informed me that would cost more money. Is that their ploy? Put "cheap" guests on the ridiculously noisy first floor, knowing that they will call and complain? Then offer them a quiet room "for an additional charge?" Wow! I will never stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarpinn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Rach Jim

I appreciate that you took the time to bring this matter to our attention, I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations/attention/service and consideration we strive for with our entire guest. Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail with our Front Desk Manager regarding the noise you experience.

I will like to have a chance to redeem ourselves. Should your travels bring you back to Carpinteria, Please contact me and I will handle your reservations personally.

Kindly
Liz Noriega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    315
    167
    75
    44
See reviews for
255
315
47
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Beautiful grounds, comfortable room. Well priced for the area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whyask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Driving from Las Vegas through Los Angeles to Santa Monica, stopping to eat at Duke's in Malibu before driving up Pacific Coast Highway we stayed here. This hotel is very conveniently located right off the highway and affordable. It is an older hotel but the grounds and courtyard are very nicely kept and the room was clean. We planned on stopping in Santa Barbara and driving on to Solveng the next day. We stayed on the ground floor and could hear the people walking around in the room above us at night and in the morning but not to the extent to interfere with our sleep. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to turn in early or sleep late, get an upstairs room. This is a small hotel with only tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I can definitely recommend this hotel even we only stayed just one night.
I stayed with my father for one night in Carpinteria (just 15 minutes south of Santa Barbara). The place was clean. The beds were comfortable. The room was spacious so was the bathroom. Everything was working and in good shape.
We stayed on the second floor facing the parking lot. It was not that noisy.

Room Tip: request a room not facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alohanyc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

For the most part, I agree with the positive reviews of this hotel. The front desk and waitstaffs are friendly. The rooms are unremarkable, except that the hotel does have a nice courtyard. The location allows for convenient access on and off the 101. Two warnings: the walls are thin and the housekeeping staff thinks nothing of vacuuming at 8am and yelling down the hall. Also, the hot water apparently wasn't adequate for all guests and showers were lukewarm.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We had about 8 rooms booked here since several people were in town for a wedding. The ease of getting to it right off the the freeway is the 1st plus. When we pulled into the lot we were pleasantly surprised at the look. As we entered the lobby the cleanliness continued. My group stayed for 5 days and the only issue we had was that when we left for the day and the maid came our keys didn't work anymore and had to take them up front and get new ones. Really a minor issue,everything else was so great it wasn't even worth complaining about. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor room with a patio and loved it! Some room do not have patio's or balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

As part of our honeymoon we drove down PCH and used the Best Western at Carpinteria as a stop off on our way to Huntington Beach. The location of the hotel is one of it's best features, it was extremely easy to get to from the freeway and there was ample parking. On checking in, the reception staff were very polite and the lobby area was tastefully decorated. We were given a room on the ground floor near to the 'spa'. The room itself was simple but the bathroom looked like it could do with a facelift.

I remember when we booked the hotel it offered a spa and pool, so on arrival I thought it would be good to check it out after the long 4 hour drive. The Spa was located next to our room and in a nutshell it was a star shaped jacuzzi that had a maximuim of 3 person capacity. I would describe it as more of a large puddle than a spa! The pool was not much bigger either to be honest.

The room we had was near to an exit door and was noisy. People who smoked stood just outside this door allowing for the smell of cigarettes to come through our air conditioning. The reception were informed of this and it was dealt with.

My advice is, if you are on a budget and need a place for a night it is ok but I will not stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheButchers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarpinn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear TheButchers2011,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn.
I appreciate your taking the time to write and hope you will
accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.
We at the INN appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us again. If their is anything we can do please do not hesitate to give us a call.

Regards,

Esmeralda Zermeno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carpinteria
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria
13.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
11.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
15.2 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn
Address: 4558 Carpinteria Avenue, Carpinteria, CA 93013-1863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carpinteria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carpinteria Hotel Carpinteria
Carpinteria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing