We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem. Good food, good service.”

SIAM Elephant Thai Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 75 Restaurants in Carpinteria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem. Good food, good service.”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We wanted a quiet place and a tasty Thai meal. The ambience is informal; the food and the service were excellent. Ordered Tom Yum soup, avocado & asparagus salad, and a pork, green bean & carrot dish. The salad was outstanding, soup excellent. The pork dish was tasty though the green beans were so-so. Prices are reasonable. I will definitely return when in town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marydeetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    48
    18
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not old school Thai food”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

A sweet little place as are the owner and his wife. The fresh spring rolls were nicely presented and the accompanying sauces complimented them.
The crispy appetizer rolls were tasty,not greasy.
The pad Thai lacked presence. Noodles were quite thin and clumped together. The shrimp tasted fresh but still had their shells on. Their was more of an oil taste than anything else.
The cashew chicken pleased my wife and did taste rich and was satisfying.
The larb ??, what should be grilled beef salad lacked the bright bite of lime
That I expect. The beef was very tough . So so.
Given the location this restaurant is a bright spot and deserves your attendance .
And on a scale of one to ten.....6.....

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good food, prompt service”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

My wife had the yellow curry, and I had the pumpkin curry. Both were served promptly and were tasty. Prices are very reasonable -- especially for dining at "the coast."

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“pretty tasty”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We ended up at Siam Elephant, after having a beer, down by the railroad tracks..LOT of different options, fair prices, and good flavor. I am spoiled from a Thai restaurant in our town, but this was a nice addition to all the food that we enjoyed in this area.
Nice carved wooden , table for 4 outside..
Nice selection of Asian beers, and that is always a treat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great food and customer service!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were camping at the beach and arrived late. It was too late to campfire a meal so we cheated and headed into town to eat at a restaurant. Since it's obviously a smaller town, we had little options for what was still open past 9pm. Luckily we found this little spot and ate a great meal that hit the spot. They were closing at 10 and we arrived at 9:40 but they still let us in. The servers were attentive and friendly. We received our food very quickly and it was delicious. We ended up being the last to leave, pass10pm but they were still very friendly and gracious. If we are ever in the area again, we will be sure to stop by.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank twinklehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SIAM Elephant Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to SIAM Elephant Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing