We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring your appetite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clementine's Steak House

Clementine's Steak House
Ranked #13 of 74 Restaurants in Carpinteria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carpinteria, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I've lived in Carpinteria for a couple of years and finally made my way to Clementine's. The reviews I read on TA helped make this experience fantastic. This is a beach town so don't expect high-end décor. What you do get is sweet and charming servers and when you read "it feels like being at grandma's house" that sums it up nicely. The food is very good. I had the homemade pea soup which was excellent. We also had the fried chicken and the sea bass. The chicken was the star of the show by far - I can hear Colonel Sanders crying. Oh and the pie...there's so many to choose. We had banana cream and cherry...both outstanding. I'm a firm believer that you get what you pay for. While this isn't over-the-top expensive, it's a bit more expensive than some other places in town. But you get a unique experience and good quality, homemade food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CA_dreamer__103066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    26
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clemintine's Great Steak Great Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great fresh REAL homemade American style! You can count on their dinners being prepared the same top quality every time! Saturday nite get there early to ask to carve an end piece of their Superb Prime Rib. Fresh plump Halibut, homemade tartar and home made fried chicken(I ask for a little extra salt) so Crispy! Delicious! the NY steak is superb! and there is a Special potatoe too! Vegies are tasty! and mouthwatering home made Bread with Butter made every nite by Irene the owner. Do chilled Relish trays still exist? They do here! Add some picked vegies to your nice large salad. Did I mention that her Clam Chowder is smooth as silk and sooo tasty. Waitresses are Pro! Great Family place. Wine and beer are available. Irene makes homemade pies every day! Cream pies, berry pies, chocolate, raspberry, choc chip walnut! Reserve your favorite. Coffee is the BEST. Always take home half my meal. What a DEAL! A real old style roadside restaurant...Only a few blocks from downtown head north on Carpinteria Ave. its on the Left. DON'T MISS IT!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Faves485 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“You won't leave her without a takeout box”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Wow! Is about all I can say about Clementine's. This family-owned/operated restaurant operates out of a converted house in Carpinteria, CA. I've heard people rave about this place, so we had to try it ourselves. OK, a purple building with pink and red interior might be a bit outlandish. But, so is their food. Everything on the menu is deliciously home cooked, and served in very large portions. Fresh baked pie comes with every order. Customers don't leave there with to-go boxes, they leave with bags of food. It's tomorrow's lunch and dinner.

This is a must stop for anyone cruising the 101 through Carpinteria.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SimiDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

It is unfair to rate the food as we never got a chance to order. We arrived and we were seated in a fairly empty restaurant. Several parties came in after us, were seated, had drink orders taken and only the bus person came to our table. Finally we asked about a server and were told that ours was making salads for a large party. That was enough, and we left after about fifteen minutes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home style goodness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This place is one of a kind, certainly not your typical dining experience. The menu is varied and the servings are plentiful. The staff is very friendly and service is always good. That said our favorite thing is to get a fried chicken meal to go and split it between two of us. It's truly best the fried chicken I have had and it comes with soup, salad , a relish dish, bread, several large pieces of chicken, and a delicious piece of pie. Plenty for the 2 of us, and we get to eat at the beach or one of the great parks in Carpinteria.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jlyncol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clementine's Steak House also viewed

 
Carpinteria, CA
Carpinteria, CA
 

Been to Clementine's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing