We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very noisy location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria North
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Murrieta, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very noisy location”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This motel is located next to Highway 101. Traffic can be heard all night long. The train horn can be heard in the middle of the night. The walls are very thin and you can hear the television and other people laughing in the next room. The motel is three stories tall and there are no elevators. If you check in early, they will tell you the only rooms that are clean are on the third floor. It does not matter if you noted on your reservation that you are disabled, nor do they care that you walked into their lobby with a cane and two children. When you get into your room, check the bathroom for towels. We had none. When we called the front desk, they said we had to go and get them at the front lobby, which meant another trek down two flights of stairs. Housekeeping was still cleaning rooms at 5:00 p.m. The rooms are basic and clean. The television appeared to be pre-1999. If you need a quick night sleep and you don't mind the noise, this is a location for you.

Room Tip: Request a room in the far back and request a room on the first or second floor. The front building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyShellyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    31
    27
    38
See reviews for
26
49
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fortaleza, CE
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great value for you money, really close to US101, 15 minutes from Sta Barbara. Typical Motel 6 style, small but clean rooms, cable TV, AC and heating working just fine, but no luxury. A little bit noise, as the door is in front of the parking lot, so every guest with a louder car may wake you up, but thats comes with the project. Staff was fantastic, as my wife was ill and they gave all the assistance I needed.
I would stay here again, no doubt. Ah, internet worked ok, wi-fi for a small fee.

Room Tip: Maybe the 2nd floor is better, if you want to wake up late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

For all those who will stay in this motel please understand it is just a motel. We enjoyed the stay and the staff was very nice and accommodating. It is conveniently located near Santa Barbara and all the hot spots.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbrg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We decided last minute to go to a dog show in Santa Barbara in August, which meant we were limited in places we could stay on short notice with dogs for under $300 a night! We chose this Motel 6 over the other one in Carpinteria because it was about $15 a night less expensive than the one just south. And this one still averaged with taxes and everything to be $100 a night. This one said it had been "recently refreshed". Um, I'd like to know where. The carpet was dirty, it smelled musty. The room was soooo tiny, it was basically the size of a walk in closet with a small bath attached. The only thing that looked recently refreshed was the credenza that 13" television was sitting on and the shower that looked like they had taken it out of a nice motorhome. We stay at Motel 6's a few times a year because they dont charge fees to have the dogs, but this has got to be the worst one we stayed at among all of them in many different states. Now to the other "guests". We arrived on a Thursday and it became clear that this motel 6 is where the state is housing menial workers during the week who are working on the HOV lanes that are being built on the 101. So after work they would just hang out in the parking lot and drink til 2 am....then there were the tweakers loitering in the parking lot as well as 2 prostitutes that made their "office" at this establishment. Over the weekend the workers moved out and lots of dog show people moved in, but many had lots of problems with their rooms including sewage coming up thru their toilets, toilets not working for 8-10 hours and not hearing from the staff as to when they could get fixed. And there is no AC at this place so without doors and windows open it was stifling in the room. The weekend we were there it was only in the low 70s during the day but it was always very warm in the room. We tried turning on the fan in the room to help move the air but when we did it stunk really badly so we turned it off. Since we felt very uncomfortable sleeping with the window open let alone the door due to the problems we saw with many of the clientele, it was very very warm when we were sleeping. We basically just slept on top of the sheet in underwear to sleep without sweating. the mattresses were very cheap and uncomfortable. The only thing i saw at this motel that was decent was their pool. It was sparkling clean. Besides that one redeeming quality, this was an awful place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RRCazador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carpinteria hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

If you just want a place to crash, this place is ok. The beds were comfortable, and I liked the table and chairs. Another nice amenity is that they have laundry machines on site.The room smelled like smoke. Ventilation was poor, and the window barely opens. I had to leave the door open for fresh air. The problem with that, though, was that every guest was smoking outside of their room! The clothes in my suitcase even smelled like smoke after I left. It seemed like the clientele were truckers and low-income families. Don't get a room by the pool. The kids like it and it's loud. You'll need to bring your our toiletries if you stay here. I would also recommend bringing your own towels. The ones that they provide aren't very absorbent. It was annoying to pay $3 for internet per device per day.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool. Children swim in the morning and are very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stryker32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Went for the weekend with my two Granddaughters. I had stayed there before when they had just remodeled and it was not too bad. This visit was horrible. The hotel should be shut down.
The bedspread had stains all over it. The floors were dirty and sticky. The beds are the worst. It is just a foam mattress on a wooden platform, which the mattress was so worn, it was like sleeping on the wooden platform. When I did try to sleep, as soon as laid down between the sheets, my legs were itching so bad, I had to to get up and just sleep on top of both sheets since the blankets were dirty. Since we arrived at the hotel at 9p.m., it was not possible to find another room. It was the longest night. This place really needs to be inspected and I will keep trying until I find the right government department to report this place to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Lazy Staff - poor service - view of HWY 101, and road noise all night noisy AC worked but run all night. Avoid staying here if at all possible our room was less than 200 Sq. Ft. at a cost of 115.00 plus taxes

Room Tip: Try HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS / BEST WESTERN OR THE MOTEL 6 SOUTH, As for the north they need to close it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inspectrdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carpinteria
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria
7.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South
9.2 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
341 reviews
6.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria North

Property: Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria North
Address: 4200 Via Real, Carpinteria, CA 93013-1222
Location: United States > California > Carpinteria
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria North 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Motel-6, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria North Hotel Carpinteria
Carpinteria Motel Six
Carpinteria Motel 6
Motel 6 Carpinteria
Motel Six Carpinteria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing