We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Padaro Beach Grill

Padaro Beach Grill
Ranked #1 of 75 Restaurants in Carpinteria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Padaro Beach Grill is one of those special places that you will always remember and want to return. It offers a unique casual garden dining experience. You order your food and beverages at the counter, get a number then go choose a table in the outdoor dining area with ocean views. Excellent for families with young children because the parents can relax while the kids play in the giant sand box or on the grass. Its a great place to stop when you are driving on the 101. Its just South of Santa Barbara. Easy freeway access. Service is good. We love the California Burger! Cant wait to return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanTravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    81
    17
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A nice beach area outdoor spot, but best if you have kids.”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Have not been to this place for several years so we stopped in for a quick bite. The place has changed hands at least once since my last visit, so I wanted to see what was new. It's a nice location with easy freeway access. The place to me is a large picnic/outdoor eating area and playground, complete with sandbox area for the kids. So forgot quiet or intimate lunch or dinner. Think noise. The menu is mostly things like burgers, sandwiches and salad with sides like fries, coleslaw, etc. along with soft drinks, beer and wine. Prices are reasonable. You place your order at the counter, get your buzzer and wait for the buzzer to go off to pickup your food. My ahi tuna sandwich was OK, nothing all that interesting but OK. My companion had the tuna melt which looked like a better choice or I'd go for the burgers, Our caesar salad was flavorful. From time to time, you'll be entertained by a train whizzing by complete with loud horn blast. By ready, it can be a bit of a surprise.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisinSOCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno/Sparks
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beachside Bliss!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Wow! Delicious, affordable, perfect! Salads are amazing! The California burger add blue cheese is a must. Love this place!! Sit by the ocean - young ones can play in the sand box. Don't miss this stop!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hansen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
248 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good Food, GREAT AMBIANCE!”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This restaurant is next to the beach and has good views of the beach and ocean. Come here on a warm, sunny day for the wonderful outdoor seating. Dining is mostly outdoors (with limited indoor seating) where dinners enjoy meals at picnic tables on a large grassy expanse. The landscaping is lovely, lush and relaxing to enjoy. Come here to relax. There is a small, sandy play area for kids to have in after dining.

This restaurant is clean, recently renovated, and offers the standard casual fare of hamburgers, fries, etc. My husband and I each enjoyed the hickory burgers. I had french fries and my hubby enjoyed the sweet potato fries. We liked our meals.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaandRod93013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Sand, Suds, and Sandwiches ... and yes, a great view.”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This place has always had so much potential but it has been plagued by a long line of past owners who seemed to think that people would be so busy looking at the view they wouldn't notice that they were eating lousy food at ridiculous prices. So, it came as a pleasant surprise when I realized that the new owners had finally figured out that if they do exactly the opposite, people would just see the view as an extra bonus and keep coming. And so it has been. With a huge, nicely kept outdoor area overlooking the beach and a giant sandy area for the kids to play in and even an adults-only area if you don't want to dine with the rug rats, this place is a pleasure to visit. So, if you find yourself on the 101 and the kids are screaming and your stomach is rumbling pull off at Santa Clause lane and let em run wild while you have a cold one and a delicious burger.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank avodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padaro Beach Grill also viewed

 

Been to Padaro Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing