We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carpinteria State Beach Campground
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$144
$136
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn(Carpinteria)(Great Value!)
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sandyland Reef Inn(Carpinteria)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montecito Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Inn At East Beach(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$116
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
30
26
23
12
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
26
23
12
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstar pitsgreat campgroundfull hookupsrv campingcarpinteria state beachwalking distancetidepoolsfreightgeneratorproximity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 108 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Unfortunately, when we booked our beach-front camping spot, we made the mistake of taking the 1 down from San Francisco, rather than the 101. On the map, it appeared to be about the same distance. Wrong! In other words, we missed most of our reservation time in Carpenteria. When we finally arrived, we thought the ranger at the check-in station might have mercy on us and give us the two remaining hours we had left (in our camping spot) before the next person could check in (at 2pm) or at least give us a refund. He did neither. So, for the $70.00 we paid (in advance) for the camping spot (which we never got), we ended up with a day-pass (until sunset) in an asphalt parking lot right next to the amtrak train track. And BTW, someone pulled up in our camping spot at noon!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HannaSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

November 2012. We are in our early 40's, no kids. We were there to surf and Stand Up Paddleboard (SUP). Little surf, but great for SUPing. The ocean was so close. Found several sand dollars. We stayed Tuesday-Thursday. The bathrooms were clean, the showers $.50-$.75 and hot. We chose a $35 camp site over the $50. Glad we did, there was a 10 feet difference. We brought ear plugs, so no issues with sound for us. The Carpenteria town was a quick walk. We loved Renaldo's Mexican Bakery. $2.50 for a huge breakfast burrito. We will return!

Room Tip: Not a room, but a site. If you reserve a spot, the cheaper spots are just as close to the water.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DeeDee690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is split into different areas, some of which look ok, but the area we were in was hideous. As others have said, tarmac and dirt up against a chainlink fence and the amtrak. Not a blade of grass permitted!
We joined the queue to get our money back, which was cheerfully refunded (it's clearly a common occurence!)

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank smokeyd2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Great place to camp, all be it tent, trailer et al. Close to water, town has anything needed. If lazy most resturants deliver to campsite. rent almost anything. Food needs within walking distance.
Rincon bikes has good.pricing and.fair repair work, as well as honest advice. Rustys pizza a good value and fast. Easu's cafe and worker bee cafe are our favorites.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scottwpascoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The showers were dirty, the restrooms looked like they haven't been cleaned since weeks and also smelled like that. We stayed there for one night, then left early and used the restrooms in a restaurant.
I also had the feeling that the ranger didn't really care much about my feedback.
And this for 50$ there are fare better ones like Lake Powell and there we paid 24$.
Don't go there!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stephan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews