We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your dog is part of the family!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Post Office Cafe

The Old Post Office Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Your dog is part of the family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had to hunt around a bit to find a breakfast place where we could take our 3 dogs with us. This outdoor cafe was very accommodating! They have an excellent menu and wonderful service. Everyone made ALL of us feel welcome and provided water and dog treats for us during breakfast. There's a nice sized patio on the side of the restaurant with colorful umbrellas and adequate space between tables for everyone's comfort. We were very happy with the whole affair! Try them out and we're sure you will be, too! And as an aside, there is a dog beach right across the street and down a little path to the lake!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    47
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disgusting Fake Eggs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

What a disappointment after waiting 45 minutes to get seated (on a Sunday - busier on the weekends). After reading the reviews, we expected the aloof staff so we weren't surprised. Our server seemed nice which is why I am giving this place a 2 instead of a 1. They have an outdoor seating area which is nice but uncomfortable since we sat on a hard bench.

I asked for egg whites in my omelet, which they do not offer even though it says on the menu they do. The only alternative is egg beaters. I opted for regular eggs, or what I thought would be regular eggs. They turned out to be disgusting fake eggs, the watery kind that are served on a buffet line. Everything was saturated in oil. The pancakes and biscuits my companion ordered tasted exactly the same - flavorless and just like flour.

We waited a long time for our order and I believe that we were there close to two hours....for breakfast...that wasn't even good. Save your money and go anywhere else.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank om_sweet_om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

If your going solo or with one other person you can go anytime and just sit at the bar and it's great service. It can get a little busy on the weekends so get there early. It's my favorite please to eat at Tahoe and very reasonably priced

Helpful?
Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad Management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

The manager was extremely rude and un-kind. The food was great and the service was awesome! We had a very nice, helpful server (not sure why she is working for someone like that. She can do better at other restaurants for sure). The manager, Linda, was very rude and not compassionate. We had a question about our bill and spoke with her about it (in a kind, respectful way). She was short and inappropriate with us. If she would have explained with compassion, it would have been an amazing experience. But she put a rainy day to our nice breakfast for sure. I would not recommend because the manager was un-professional. If you do brave this restaurant, stay away from Linda!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Huge Servings for a Great Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We're really glad our daughter suggested that we try breakfast there. It was great. The prices are right on target for the area. Servings are huge. Doggy bag, for sure. The omelet I had was delicious. Others in our party enjoyed their food, as well. The staff was a bit aloof but warmed up to us as our time there progressed. We'd go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LuLu1945619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Post Office Cafe also viewed

Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California)
Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to The Old Post Office Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing