We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Servings for a Great Price”

The Old Post Office Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Huge Servings for a Great Price”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We're really glad our daughter suggested that we try breakfast there. It was great. The prices are right on target for the area. Servings are huge. Doggy bag, for sure. The omelet I had was delicious. Others in our party enjoyed their food, as well. The staff was a bit aloof but warmed up to us as our time there progressed. We'd go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuLu1945619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    51
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food just not up to par :(”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I went here for breakfast while on vacation. The meal was so-so. My potatoes were cold, the muffin was cold and they sat us next to the bus trays (slop buckets).

My guest had the crab-cake Benedict and it had so much filler that it could hardly be called a "crab" anything.

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day and this experience was a huge let down.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamburger_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We really enjoyed this place. The breakfast is great. We tried other places that were good, but we came back to this place. In addition to great food, the staff is SO nice. They really make you feel comfortable. Small outside seating area is nice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
246 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“Want a great Tahoe breakfast/lunch? Stop here.”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

A knowledgeable employee at the Hyatt recommended this place, saying, "There are some good breakfast places nearby, but The Old Post Office is particularly excellent, and worth the drive." It was a twenty minute lakeside drive via Kings Beach from the Hyatt, but oh-so-worth it!! It would be an easy drive from the other direction too, coming from Tahoe City.

Food is fantastic!!!!!! All three of us loved our breakfasts. The vegetarian scrambled eggs--cooked to perfection. French toast and pancakes--delicious! Home fried potatoes--super!. not a bad or even "just average" breakfast food item, pleasing the appetites of kids and adult alike.

There are tables right by the window with a view of the road, but they were either taken or reserved when we arrived. The interior of the place is fine even without the window view. Service was mostly ok despite some "attitude" at first.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Great Place for Breakfast”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

If you are ever in the North Tahoe area, you must have breakfast at the Old Post Office. I ordered a two egg omelet with mushrooms and green peppers. It was well prepared and extremely fresh. Such a difference from typical breakfast places. The service was great. The restaurant is in an old wooden post office building and it uses that theme throughout. If the weather good, try to eat on the front porch. I will go back the next time I am in Tahoe.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Post Office Cafe also viewed

Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California)
Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to The Old Post Office Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing