We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and delicious food”

Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Front and Center
Transit: All local bus lines drop off and pick up in front of Gar Woods Grill & Pier
Description: Since 1988 Gar Woods Grill & Pier has been the premier North Lake Tahoe waterfront dining destination. Located in Carnelian Bay, our floor to ceiling windows, large deck and balconies provide breath-taking views of Lake Tahoe and the Sierras. Gar Woods Grill & Pier is an upscale casual restaurant that accommodates groups of 160 just as easily as groups of 2. Our Chef has created a menu highlighting California cuisine, hand cut steaks and fresh Pacific seafood, served in our fun in the sun atmosphere. The wine list is a collection of California's best-known vintners featuring more than a dozen wines by the glass. Enjoy Tahoe's warm summer days sitting on our waterfront deck while sipping on a world famous Wet Woody. With nearly two million sold you'll be in good company but come early to get a seat. When visiting during the ski season thaw out in front of our three story tall river rock fireplace with a Warm Woody or a Heavenly bottom. Lake Tahoe sunsets are our specialty.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and delicious food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Their "wet woody" signature drink is fantastic. The view of lake tahoe is fantastic, great service. I will definitely return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mateonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    171
    63
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great drinks. Skip the food.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We love to go to Garwoods, sit on the deck and enjoy the lake and drink a Wet Woody! We always take guests who are visiting to Garwoods for a drink. The food is so so, I wouldn't bother

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Level Contributor
814 reviews
470 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Always great happy hour”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Lots of food choices,( bbq chicken quesadilla, sliders, burger, onion soup, peppered steak salad, crab chile relleno,chicken pesto sandwich,etc) fair wine selection (toasted head), delicious wet woody 's or margaritas, all at reduced happy hour prices , beautiful lakeside view, and fireplace. Tables are close together in this always crowded restaurant bar area. Be aware that drinks not on happy hour menu range in the $10+ price range.
Main restaurant is equally as lovely although prices are high.
Outdoor seating is available in summer. Lots of free parking in large lot.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MIAMISHEILA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Heavenly Views”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Five years ago, on a gorgeous late September afternoon, my husband and I had lunch and drinks on Gar Woods outdoor deck and enjoyed their incredible commanding view of Lake Tahoe. We remembered the fabulous location and tasty drinks, and marked it as a "must return" spot. We returned last month -- for dinner on a very busy Friday night just after Christmas. The food was unremarkable with the exception of a very nicely done tuna poke appetizer. We recommend visiting Gar Woods when you can relax outdoors and take in the sun and the views, and taste one of their signature drinks. The food is just the accompaniment.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chip004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
261 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Menu & Fantastic Lake View”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Loved my Nicoise salad. The menu has lots to offer, and the place offers a great view of Lake Tahoe from the north shore. A bit pricy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing