We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So relaxing!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California), California

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ljm6234
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were looking forward to a relaxing few days to catch up with friends we hadn't seen for a year. We arrived at the cabin which looked small but quite cosy. However on the decking we found a broken table with sun umbrella stuffed into it, four chairs - two of which were stripy blue and white plastic - and a filthy BBQ and utensils. Not a good beginning. Inside was not a lot better. The sink had old cheese in it and was dirty. The control knob to the dishwasher had been removed but there was no plug for the sink to wash up by hand and the cloths for doing so were filthy. There was a mixture of plates and mugs and only thick plastic wine glasses.
On closer investigation we found hair and fluff on the floor behind the bathroom door and my husband cleaned the bath plug to remove all the hair. The door to our bedroom had been badly clawed. Obviously a dog had been left in there and tried to get out. The final straw was to discover the sheets in the upstairs bedroom (which were bright red) completely covered in white dog hairs!
We had booked through an agent and immediately phoned them. They contacted the cleaner who came round and admitted it was his fault and spent an hour and a half cleaning up. He said he was ashamed to have left it in such a mess. The next day he brought glasses and new BBQ utensils. However you don't expect to spend the first afternoon of your holiday with the cleaner.
The agency has recompensed us to the value of $92 which converted to £48 but it cost us £26 in mobile phone usage. Not a good experience and certainly not a relaxing one.
On the plus side Lake Tahoe is beautiful - just stay somewhere else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2014
We apologize that the home was not initially cleaned to our standards. Vacasa issued a refund of your cleaning fee as that service was not rendered. Regretfully we are unable to compensate for cellular phone overage fees.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Reviewed June 13, 2013 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MN
Reviewed May 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
the Bay Area
Reviewed May 10, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
the Bay Area
Reviewed May 10, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richiethe...
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
“Convenient location”
Reviewed August 29, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

My family and I rented the Moose Cabin at Carnelian Bay this past July for four nights. Our overall experience was good as it is conveniently located close to Kings Beach and many of the other areas for recreation around Lake Tahoe. The cabin itself has all of the items that you need whle you are there and is very well equipped. Unfortunately, our experience did not start out on a positive note. Upon entering the cabin, it appeared that no one had been in to clean for some time. In fact it looked as if some had just left the cabin not long before we arrived. The trash cans were full, the master bed was unmade and there was laundry in the washing machine as well as on the floor. It was apparent that whoever had been there before had a dog as there was hair everywhere. We also noticed that the bed in the upstairs room was wet which eliminated that bed as a place to sleep for one of my sons. We called the management company to let them know the circumstances with no answer so we left a message. My wife and I spent the next two hours cleaning the cabin, washing the linens and towels and dusting the entire place (huge amount of dust). Management called back and to thier credit, reimbursed us the cleaning fee. Despite this we did have a good time whle we were there. It should also be noted that the level of noise is quite high as it is just off the main highway that circles the lake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing