We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An updated Carmel Valley tradition....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Linda

Plaza Linda
27 E Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9716
(831) 659-4229
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An updated Carmel Valley tradition....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

First, they are no longer at 9 Del Fino Place - they are a couple of blocks away on Carmel Valley Road. The picture of the restaurant is correct, though.

The PL has been in the Valley since the early 50s, I believe. It was run by several generations of the Diaz family until it was sold a few years ago.

The new owners have greatly improved the quality and variety of the food. While described as a Mexican restaurant, it is more Hispanic with a Salvadoran influence. Full bar, great home made margaritas, great food, good service, and regular low key entertainment.

Been there 8 or 9 times and never disappointed. Staged a speical event there and it went off without a hitch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank valleyguy235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Authetic mexican food! Great service & location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Now this is the way mexican food is supposed to taste! They first served us homemade chips that were still warm. The salsa was fresh & not too hot for my wife. The margaritas were homemade as well with real lime juice & not a bottled mix. Very tasty.

For lunch, I had the beef enchilada & chili relleno combo. Very tasty. Fresh ingredients! The refried beans were very tasty & so was the rice. A very nice dish. My wife had the carnitas in which the pork was succulent & not overcooked.

This was a nice restaurant with upscale decor. They had recently moved from their location of many years to one on the main road downtown. Very nicely decorated & upscale. We will return here when in the area!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Nice, easy restaurant. good service, consistent food. Gets busy at night. Make reservations at night.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food We've Had in a Decade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were looking for a place to have a late lunch on a Saturday and this was recommended to us by a local at one of the tasting rooms. Great recommendation!

The service was very, very attentive and friendly. The portions were just right and each of our dishes had little touches that we loved. I had one cheese enchilda and everything from the flavors, to the touch of shredded cabbage on the side with a light drizzling on top of a delicious sauce was great.

When we were leaving, we chatted with the person who waited on us and learned that they use key limes in their margaritas...we can't wait to come back and try one!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kmmtth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Burritos?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I love Mexican food but, I am not sure what happened with my order. I ordered he asada burrito combo plate. It had a lot of salt and lacked key traditional filling like tomatoes, guacamole, onion, etc.. and most important it did not taste like a carne asada burrito.
I love salsa and this was one lacked flavor.
If you want a burrito with flavor go to Mi Tierra or Mi Pueblo in Seaside or Mando's in PG. Their burritos are big and bountiful with lots of flavor and their salsa is delicious too. Sorry, will not be eating here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Linda also viewed

 
 

Been to Plaza Linda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing