We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carmel Valley Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Bernardus Lodge & Spa(Carmel Valley)
$385
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$520
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$86
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Discovery Inn(Seaside)
$59
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Inn Monterey(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$150
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
46
55
29
19
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
55
29
19
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubconference roomcommunity centerdog treatspeanut butterliving roomfront officeflat screen tvcomplimentary breakfastswimming poolwine tastingenjoyed every minutefull kitchenhard boiled eggsget awaycomfortable staybreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 172 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

After a bad day on our 3 week roadtrip through the usa, we have been welcomed by the front desk lady and she made us feel better by listening to our problems, upgrading our room and giving us advice. The room with the fireplace are so nice and romantic...we felt instantly better:-) the breakfast is very good - fresh fruit, cereal, toast,.... One of the best on our trip. At checkout same desk lady...:-) :-) :-) when on winetasting or passing by, stay here! Top place...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeMeyerNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were only here for one night but wished it was longer. So peaceful.From sitting out on the porch having a beer to enjoying the log fire and convenience of the kitchen it was just great. Nice breakfast as well, with a log fire burning in the restaurant to keep off the chill

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinthecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our stay at the lodge was perfect. We rented a king suite: Living room w/ fireplace, kitchen and dining area and bedroom w/ great bed and linens. The location was walking distance to the village.
A beautiful park was nearby. The hotel staff was warm and welcoming. We will visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scanali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place was such a great find. After spending a horrible night in a hotel in Carmel-By-The Sea, we went looking for a place where we could get a good night's rest. I looked on TripAdvisor for reviews and was very pleased to discover that all of the wonderful things that were said of this lodge were true. We were checked in by a very charming, friendly and accommodating young man named Andrew. He really took the time to tell us about the hotel and was very patient with all of my questions. We stayed in a King Fireplace room that faced the parking lot, and pool but they had placed nice little fencing with flowers growing all around and we hardly noticed the lot. Even though the lodge is right on the road, we never once heard any traffic. The furnishings are a little out-dated, but it had a country charm to it that was endearing. The fireplace which was fully prepped was a very nice touch and there was even a little smore's making kit. We walked the grounds and saw horseshoes, a little workout area with a pool table in it (we would have never known about it though if we had not gone exploring) and grassy areas for our pooch to lay on.
The bathrooms were nice and had good soap and shampoo. There was a coffee maker (and good coffee) and real mugs. There was an armoire that had a mini fridge, mircrowave, wine opener and two plates and silverware.
The breakfast was excellent. It was a deluxe, all-you-can-eat continental in a nice dining room that had an outdoor eating area. There were waffles, sausage, toast, all kinds of pastries and breads (including several types of bagels), real maple syrup, butter and jam, peanut butter, a fruit plate of sliced fruit as well as peelable fruits to take with you (which we did :) three coffee caraff's, three types of juice, hard boiled eggs, hot tea, and a lot of ambiance.
Our bed was glorious. Finally we could sleep through the night after who knows when while on the road. We slept very, very well.
In the morning, we were pleasantly greeted while walking to our room by the inn-keeper, a sweet, older man name Peter who is the epitome of a congenial, gracious inn-keeper. He took the time to greet our pup (oh yeah, bonus that they are pet friendly), and talk with us. He then asked that I stop in to the front desk on our way out so that he could show me on the town map how to find a few places that I had inquired about.
A paper-bag lunch is included in your stay. I tell ya....these owners really know how to do it right!! Each lunch included a sandwich of our choice (choices of meat and condiments are asked at check in), one candy bar, one granola bar, a yogurt, a bag of chips and a water bottle. Very thoughtful and really a nice touch.
I was so impressed with this place! Just the thought of the very kind employees and the sweet touches of accommodations really puts a smile on my face.

The only downside is that there was a septic smell in the room after using the shower. We had wondered if it was the opening of the pipes taking the shower that did it....? It was pretty noticeable.

Room Tip: Ask for a fireplace room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keiligh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at the Lodge for one night while on our way through Big Sur. Lobby was very inviting as the check in process was quick. Room was very quaint and fit our needs well. Breakfast in the morning was good and the fireplace in the breakfast room was a nice touch. Upon checking out we were each given a picnic lunch which was enough for another person. The lunch was a great addition to our Big Sur drive. The staff, and the guests were all very nice. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: try to stay within the lodge area as far as possible. We were right on the end and there a lot of noise in the morning from the street traffic.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmjjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews