We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny, light, very friendly staff/owner”
Review of Hidden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hidden Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2009

The beds were excellent, the setting very quiet and the grounds and room very well tended -we especially enjoyed the lovely flowers everywhere. Breakfast was elaborate for the moderate price. Our host made us waffles and was charming. I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel! One of the things I would change is hot tub maintenance. It was too cool to use.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixtyishPaloAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 330 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2009

This was our second time to stay at the Country Garden Inns. We booked their dinner package which we felt to be a great savings. Our room had a fireplace and private deck.
The two dinners were excellent,Cafe Rustica and Vocano Grill, are both located in the village within walking distance of the inn. The rate included 2 nights, our dinners both nights, wine tasting tickets, breakfast buffet with waffles, and evening wine and cheese hour for socializing. Our room was clean and comfortable. Their staff is outstanding and the gardens are beautiful. This is a charming, no frills place that gives us just what we need when visiting the area.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank powderpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed here just one night after several days of camping at Yosemite. We found the hotel quaint and while not modern, clean and well appointed. We arrived after the wine and cheese hour, but the front desk was gracious enough to provide us with our own to take to our room.

The hotel is walking distance to the village and we had a great meal at the Thai place. Breakfast the next morning -- included in the price for the room was a surprisingly amply with Belgian waffles, muffins, coffee, tea, juice and other pastries.

We got a discounted rate through a promotion, but we're pleasantly surprised and quite pleased with our stay at the Country Garden Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillygalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Me and my family stayed here on our vacation in September on our way down the coast. The location was ideal for us and everything was located close by so we were able to walk to the village for dinner. We got a great weekday rate which included a nice breakfast for all four of us. We were able to sit outside with our two children, which accommodated the stroller we had in tow. The rooms were very comfortable, clean, and nice size, the kids each had a bed. The weather was beautiful and so were there gardens and the staff was so friendly. When checking out we wanted to find something with the same offerings in Santa Barbara. The staff quickly checked for us and we booked our next stop with their asssistance. We met people that were there on a dinner package and they said it was a great deal too with good value. They commented that the two restaurants where they had dined were excellent. We would definitely go back if ever in the area, probably without the kids, so we could do a little wine tasting. Very relaxing atmosphere and a beautiful area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovethebeach53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

This is the worst and most overpriced dump we've EVER styed in!! We were too tired to look elsewhere, paid $212 for a run down, paint peeling, wires dangling, stained carpets, cruddy night stands, tough bed, etc.. The TV looked like it was right out of the 1970's, 13" in size, it's a throw back in time, worth no more than $60 per night. We feel like we've been totally misrepresented by this outfit's website. They mention their wine and cheese "party", consisting of a cheap-tasting wine carafe, a few crackers and cheddar cheese cubes. We didn't bother trying their "complimentary breakfast buffet" after peeking into the drab-looking empty room and finding just a few sad-looking bagels on the counter and a cofee pot. We felt the bad room experience was enough!! We definitely advise anyone considering this place to carefully avoid it!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emile048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We had booked to stay here for 3 nights but upon arriving and noting how run down the place looked we cancelled - the though of staying here despite a long drive that day was never an option. The staff were very good and did not quibble about cancelling our booking and refunding our deposit - we got the feeling this was a regular occurence - needless to say the pictures on the website are misleading!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank SKIParents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

I researched days and days with a smaller budget than I would have liked. I found Country Garden Inn for a birthday retreat for my mother who had just come through a hard battle with 3rd stage breast cancer. I did not actually stay there it was a retreat for her and her husband but it was such a delight to hear what an amazing stay she had and I have not heard her that happy in a very long time. I would strongly recommend this destination to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tashasakauye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel Valley
10.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
10.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
699 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Carmel Valley Lodge
Carmel Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carmel Valley
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Contenta Inn
Contenta Inn
#1 of 5 in Carmel Valley
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Inn

Address: 102 W Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9573 (Formerly Country Garden Inns)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel Valley
Price Range: $131 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hidden Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All in-room amenities may not be available in every room. Please call the front desk for assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hidden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Garden Inns Hotel Carmel Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing