We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Hidden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hidden Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My family attended a funeral in Carmel. We needed lots of rooms and wanted them close to one another so we could socialize and morn our lost cousin. This Inn worked out perfectly. The breakfast was wonderful. The staff attentive and helpful. I will stay here next time I visit Carmel.

Room Tip: Room #4 was extra roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    113
    24
    16
    21
See reviews for
64
186
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our family really enjoyed our stay at Hidden Valley. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a nice room with a view of the pool with a nice outside deck area. The sitting area in our room was very cozy. We had four people in our room with our teenagers sleeping in twin beds which were in the sitting area. The breakfast was fantastic. The people who served breakfast were really invested in making sure our needs were met. One day our teenage children slept in and when I told the server that we would be bringing food back to the room, he put together a lovely basket for them. We will definitely return to Hidden Valley. Thank you for adding to our special vacation in lovely California.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in the Hidden Valley again this last December for two nights.
In fact, the mid-December dates were the exact-same two nights as on our previous stay two years prior.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful;the room was very nicely turned-out having recently been re-decorated; and the quality of the morning breakfast was superb in all respects (including the beautifully presented dining room).
The only very small adverse comment (which we are very reluctant to make really) is that the "real-fire-effect" gas fire in the sitting room - whilst being an impressive focal point - does not put out much heat. But that came as no surprise to us, because we have one at home here in England; and it too fails to efficiently warm the room on it's own. But hey,that won't make a difference at any other time of year when the weather is warmer, will it?
In summing up, don't give it a moment's hesitation when considering a stay at Country Garden Inns - go for it and you can then enjoy Dirk's wonderful waffles at breakfast!
:-)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightnurselyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a very enjoyable (but short) stay. Unfortunately we arrived late due to a variety of unforeseen circumstances, so we had to miss the social hour (5-6 pm, with complimentary wine). But the room was comfortable and very cosy. The breakfast was delicious, and we were particularly impressed with the hosts' relaxed and attentive manner of serving their guests, even when it got a little crowded. Little details like bringing the waffles to our table were much appreciated!

The only critical comment concerns the bathroom. The shower was too old and too low on the wall, and since I am 6'6'', I had some difficulty to use it.I was told that upgrades of the rooms were in the planning.

This was our second time to stay at Country Garden Inns, and we will certainly stay there again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I had my wedding here in December 2013. It was just a small wedding and we wanted to elope. The staff was extremely nice and polite. They made sure my day was perfect. The price was outstanding! We got married on the balcony. It was beautiful view and a perfect day. The honey moon suite is perfect because its close to location. This Inn has pretty flowers and nice gardens. They had a yummy free breakfast every morning and a wine and cheese hour at 5pm. One thing I totally loved that they did was when we where having our wedding ceremony. They cleaned our room and believe me it was thrash form getting ready. It was so sweet after our ceremony was over to come back to a clean room. We plan on going back for our anniversary.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon suite is perfect room. It comes with chocolate covered strawberries, champagne, privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Two couples went to the Village to partake in a olive crushing weekend. We are all from the Monterey Bay area so know that the Village is NOT Carmel by the Sea. The hotel is conveniently located on the main road into the village and guests can easily walk into the village (those that have difficulty walking or to reach the furtherst tasting rooms can catch the horse drawin "cab" at one of the closer wine tasting rooms. The receiption desk can help you with this). Due to our plans we did not partake of the breakfast nor were we on time for the afternoon wine receiption - but do be aware that these are available for guests. The checkin was prompt and the young lady who waited on us had ready answers to questions for dinner. The Inn is at the top of a hill and there is are rooms in this upper area, but also down the driveway there are rooms on three sides of a rectangle with the center area comprised of a pool, bbq area and sitting. It is quite and peaceful. The rooms on two of the sides have patios that over look the pool/garden. The third end of the rooms is two story - but these have decks on the opposite side where you can enjoy the calm and peacefulness of the area. We stayed in this row of rooms. The room and bathroom are large and very comfortable and clean. If you are looking for modern rooms with plasma screens etc do not stay here. Room furnishings are quaint and charming which is what this property is all about. There is a coffee pot for morning coffe, TV should you want to catch up on news (really mostly we are out in the village and not in the room when here) beds are comfortable with an extra blanket or pillow should you need. Will definitely check this place out for availablility next time we are spending time in Carmel Valley Village. (They were the least expensive property available that weekend also!)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1redheartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hidden Valley Inn in November while visiting friends who live near the Inn. We really enjoyed our stay. The room was quaint and very clean and cozy. The breakfast was great and the servers were charming. We will definitely be back the next time we visit our friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel Valley
1.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
317 reviews
17.5 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,125 reviews
10.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Blue Sky Lodge
Blue Sky Lodge
#3 of 5 in Carmel Valley
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carmel Valley Lodge
Carmel Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carmel Valley
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Inn

Property: Hidden Valley Inn
Address: 102 W Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9573 (Formerly Country Garden Inns)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hidden Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All in-room amenities may not be available in every room. Please call the front desk for assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hidden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Garden Inns Hotel Carmel Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing