We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would rather stay in Monterey/Carmel”
Review of Hidden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hidden Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We recently went to a wedding in Carmel Valley, which was beautiful, but our accommodations were sub-par for $200/night. "Quaint" would be a nice way of describing our room, but "dingy" would be more apt. This was the type of room where you didn't want to touch the comforter or the carpet. As a traveler who has stayed in many hotels, I would rather drive back to Carmel or Monterey and pay the same price, where I wouldn't be afraid to put my head on the pillowcase. The front desk staff was nice, but they seemed overwhelmed. We had to wait 20 minutes checking in and 20 min to check out, with only 1 person ahead of us each time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarmellaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 336 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2008

Beautiful Scenery and Great Hospitality


We just returned from our second stay at the Country Garden Inns this past weekend. We were married last November on the deck at the Country Garden Inns. The beauty of the area, the scenery surrounding us was so lovely we couldn't wait until our anniversary to return. The care given to us by the staff was perfect on both occasions. I've never enjoyed a stay anywhere else as much. We plan to go back each year for our anniversary. We have told many about the wonderful hospitality.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank TarebearCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Our stay at The Country Garden Inn was outstanding; from the moment we arrived and checked in with desire (she was so accomodating and helpful) to our departure with Dirk (we are all missing his fantastic eggs and warm morning welcomes). We will DEFINITELY BE BACK to enjoy the Country Garden Inn and will reccomend it to anyone. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR MAKING US FEEL SPECIAL; IT MADE OUR VACATION POSITIVELY UNFORGETTABLE.
GREATFUL ALWAYS,
CHRISTIAN AND JENNIFER MEZZANO

Stayed: March 2008
Thank cjmezzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We picked up vouchers for this place at a charity auction, so we didn't know what to expect, although we are very familiar with the area.

The staff were terrific, very friendly and hospitable. The grounds are clean and well kept. Breakfast was very nice, we had a great view of the valley from our table and saw lots of birdlife. I don't eat soft-boiled eggs or waffles often, but these were perfect.

Our room opened right out onto the pool/gardens, which looked very inviting except being December we weren't tempted to go for a swim.

The room was a suite with a living area and a separate bedroom. The "couches" appeared to be day beds, so perhaps kids can sleep in that area. As previous reviews mentioned, the rooms are a little outdated, we laughed at the wicker furniture, but it was comfortable and clean and no smells.

The windows are old and a little drafty but the gas fireplace put out a lot of heat, and there was an electric wall heater in the bedroom. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The rooms by the pool are far from the road, so we didn't get any traffic noise.

A previous review said that dogs are welcome, but that is not the case any longer, apparently they had a problem.

There are several restaurants and wine tasting rooms within a short walk. I've eaten at the Running Iron Saloon many times over the years, I highly recommend that for Brunch or Lunch. For wine be sure to check out Heller, one of the few "organic" winemakers in CA. There is also a mini mart that sells decent beer, so you can take that back to the room and put it in the fridge.

The Carmel area is on the expensive side, but I think this place is reasonably priced and a good value. If you are expecting something a little more romantic and "chi-chi" then you might be disappointed. But if you are a looking for a friendly base to explore the area I would recommend it. Would also be good for a group of people booking several rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZinTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

We stayed at the Inn over Thanksgiving and were very pleased with our room and the service we received. We enjoyed the daily breakfast as well as the evening wine & cheese in front of the fireplace. Thank you. We will recommend you to our family and friends and surely will return.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DoehringLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

A friend of ours had recommended the Country Garden Inns. We looked at their web site and decided to book our six days at the Inn. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation and want to thank everyone for the excellent service we received.

Our room was comfortable and clean. The views of the garden and the mountains were just beautiful. Breakfast every morning was a treat and close by we found “Daniel’s Garden Bistro” which turned into our favorite place to eat.

Overall, a very pleasant experience. If we ever come back to the area we will stay there again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Monacofranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

This was our second time to stay at the Acacia Lodge while in town for the races. Carmel Valley is so beautiful and quaint. Our room was very clean and spacious, not resort class, but a decent price with a nice breakfast included. Perfect for us with plenty of spacious parking for our race car and trailer. We had dinner at the Garden Bistro which we highly recommend. What a great little French restaurant with great food and affordable prices. The owner was a delightful Frenchman which added to the affair. We will be return to this beautiful valley and the Acacia Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachluver711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel Valley
10.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
393 reviews
10.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 24 in Carmel
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Contenta Inn
Contenta Inn
#1 of 5 in Carmel Valley
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carmel Valley Lodge
Carmel Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carmel Valley
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Inn

Address: 102 W Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9573 (Formerly Country Garden Inns)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel Valley
Price Range: $128 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hidden Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All in-room amenities may not be available in every room. Please call the front desk for assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hidden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Garden Inns Hotel Carmel Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing