We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Country Garden Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hidden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hidden Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, Ca.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Country Garden Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at the Country Garden Inn for a family wedding over the July 13-14 weekend. The rooms are clean, spacious, light with crisp sheets. We were able to book one night only. Most hotels in the Valley require a 2 night minimum during the peak summer months. The breakfast room was such a welcome sight in the morning. Tons of coffee, juice and pastries galore. Waffles anyone? They are made fresh! Also had hard boiled eggs. Love those hard boiled eggs....Anyway, we will chose this hotel first next time we find ourselves in lovely Carmel Valley. Thanks to all the staff at the Country Garden Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macWalnutCreek_Ca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    112
    24
    16
    21
See reviews for
63
184
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My significant other and I recently traveled to Carmel Valley for a wedding of a close friend. We stumbled upon the Country Garden Inn, and I'm so glad we did. This was the first time either of us had been to the area, so we were so thankful that the staff was very accommodating of our every need. We found a gem in Carmel Valley, and will likely be returning soon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipRay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We found this Inn about 5 years ago when coming to the area for a charity golf event. We've come back every year since and now my brother and his wife stay here too.
Conveniently located, we have always found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. The Inn is located off the main road so it is very quiet and feels like you are staying in the country. They offer simple cheese an crackers in the afternoon and we have been there a few times for the nice morning breakfast. Nothing elaborate, but quite sufficient and the room and balcony are light and airy. The beds have always been comfortable and rooms clean and simple. We like the upper balcony and have had the same room each time, but looking in the other rooms, they too seem nice. If you are looking for a quiet, off the beaten track, private location, this is the place. It's our 'same time next year'.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs in the back and enjoy the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcmego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We recently stayed here at the hidden valley part of the hotel and could not have been happier with our stay. From the very beginning at check in the staff were super friendly and could not have done more for us. Our room had two huge beds which were very comfortable and we had our own little patio area which we accessed through Sliding glass doors where we could sit out at night and enjoy a glass of wine. The pool which was a great size and never too busy was about 20 feet from our patio area which was really handy. Breakfast which was included in the price was lovely and the home made waffles were amazing.

Carmel valley is a lovely place and has a great selection of quirky restaurants within walking distance, we would certainly recommend driving into Carmel by the sea it's only about 10 mins away but has a beautiful beach and some gorgeous upscale little shops, the Christmas shop is fabulous and they will personalise decorations for you while you wait, also it is the most dog friendly place I have ever been to, it's fantastic! Would also recommend a trip to monterey with its fishermans wharf , also lovely.

We would recommend the country garden inns wholeheartedly to anyone and would definitely love to visit again. Thanks for a great holiday

Room Tip: Hidden valley rooms are great as you look onto the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holibobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Recently stayed at the Country Gardens Inn in Carmel Valley CA. My wife and I thought the area would be kinda snooty like Carmel....boy were we wrong. The Inn kind of typifies the valley....very casual but in that very country way. The pool and the gardens are very well kept up and the staff was very helpful and made us feel right at home. The valley also offers many excellent resturants. Carmel and the Monterey Bay Aquarium are only a 20 plus minute drive, so there is lots to do in the area. We usually go to the aquarium every 5 years or so and will definitely stay at the inn again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Please don't be fooled by the beautiful pictures you see on this website. Fact is....the place is the COMPLETE OPPOSITE of pictures you see here. We were just there last week....July 3, 2013. When we pulled in....there were NO flowers and the family members we were traveling with were the ONLY ones staying here. this being over a holiday!!!! There was no AC and when we got there there was HOT air coming out of the vents. The rooms all had circular fans going and you could not open up the sliding glass doors because there were NO screens at all. The windows had screens, but they had rips in them. Fortunately, the woman who checked us in was still in the office and we got our money back. Run don't walk from this motel. I can't really call it an inn because it reminded us of an old run down motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper102, General Manager at Hidden Valley Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Our disappointed guest is correct. Like most of California's Valley's we experienced an extreme heat wave over that period. We can understand that our guests did not want to wait for the evening breeze to cool down the property and we gladly would have assisted in finding accommodations in one of the larger, air conditioned hotels in Monterey. We had a rather busy 4th of July weekend but the other guests might not have checked in yet or were out and about enjoying the Village and the Peninsula when this party arrived. I am not sure why the screen doors which we have at all of our sliding doors were not noticed. We are sorry we did not meet our guests expectations but will continue to do everything in our power to provide the best experience possible.
Dirk Oldenburg
Country Garden Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Garden Inn is situated within walking distance (but not too close) of some great restaurants and wineries not to mention a French coffee shop that is open early in the morning. The room was very nice and had a little shady porch off the back where we could watch the birds, read. The staff was very friendly and helpful and made our stay very pleasant. Waffles in the morning were yummy. We would go back again.

Room Tip: The building in the back was the quietest, but I think any room would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catbird50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel Valley
1.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
10.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
7.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
11.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Sky Lodge
Blue Sky Lodge
#3 of 5 in Carmel Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Inn

Property: Hidden Valley Inn
Address: 102 W Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9573 (Formerly Country Garden Inns)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hidden Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All in-room amenities may not be available in every room. Please call the front desk for assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Hidden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Garden Inns Hotel Carmel Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing