We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the great staff and the gardens were beautiful.”
Review of Hidden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hidden Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, Ca
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved the great staff and the gardens were beautiful.”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Three girl friends and I went on a get away for two nights here during the week. We stayed at the Hidden Valley Inn. The breakfast was wonderful with the best waffles I've ever eaten and soft boiled eggs to perfection! The hosts were fun and very accommodating. We visited with other guests in the breakfast room and it was delightful and we exchanged notes on the various restaurants and wineries. The evening wine and cheese were also a treat. Good thing the great restaurants were within walking distance! The setting is beautiful and very convenient to other restaurants and wineries. We had one of the best dinners we've ever had at the Cafe Rustica not far from the motel.

We were going to use the pool but ran out of time, it had a bit of debris in it and needed a pool sweep. The rooms are small that we stayed in (2 separate rooms #9 & #14) with 2 beds each and the bathrooms had no room to put much of anything on the counters. Not great for 2 women staying in each room with all our toiletries but we made do with what we had. They each had sliding glass doors that opened to a patio area with 2 chairs and a small table to enjoy the gardens. The sliding doors opened on the outside so no way to enhance the locks for security. The office staff leaves at 8 pm and not sure if there was anyone to contact until the next morning. The rooms are not updated at all and I estimate the motel was built around the 1950's. The showers are very small and there was no hot water in either room, just warm water with only the hot water faucet turned all the way on. It was OK but if you wanted a hot shower it was not an option. We drove down to their other hotel, Acacia Lodge, because we were told that the hot tub was located at their other property. There was no one there at all and I didn't feel good about being the only ones on the property so we didn't stay. When we came back to our hotel we were told that the other hotel is open mostly on the weekends but if we wanted to use the hot tub or the other pool there, it was open & available.

All in all it is a great value for the money and very charming, but it definitely needs a lot of updating. The big pluses are the wonderful staff, great breakfast and evening reception, the beautiful gardens, setting, & location. Also it was very peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane-Santa-Rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    113
    24
    16
    21
See reviews for
64
186
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at the Hidden Valley Inn on Wednesday-Friday. It is walking distance from the village, with all the wine tasting rooms and restaurants.The room we had was a one-of-a-kind special room: a great outdoor private patio in the trees, just around the corner from the inn's breakfast/wine room. The room itself was country cool; nice king bed, full kitchen, and nice remote control fireplace. It was romantic, private, and lovely to sit outside. The breakfast (included) consisted of the usual continental and if you wanted, homemade waffles or soft-boiled eggs. It overlooked the trees, and again, was decorated country chic. They also hold a wine and cheese hour from 5-6pm, and let you even pick up a small carafe and take it to your room. A short walk to town made it even more special. I would love to stay their again!!

Room Tip: Room #25 is very special. and the suites we saw were roomy and cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were in Carmel Valley visiting family. The Country Garden Inn is a clean motel-like building with very nice hosts. The room we stayed in was spacious with a sitting area separate from the bedroom, but it has not been updated and has no a/c. The bathroom is particularly dated. We were lucky to have quiet fellow guests during our stay because we needed to keep windows open. The breakfast buffet was good with freshly made waffles as an option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMC-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We found Country Garden Inn to be a delightful experience. We were there for a wedding at a nearby location, and the staff were accommodating beyond expectations. We would definitely stay there again. Many of our friends and family joined us and they had similar comments. Thanks, Dirk and staff, for a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite with the kitchen if you need it, but if you have a baby, there's no separate r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannywade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here a year ago in June of 2011 and we had an excellent time. The location is gorgeous and I had a lovely time looking at the flowers and trees around the property. We stayed at the Hidden Valley Inn and very much enjoyed the small private courtyard outside of our room and the pool was very nice. Great restaurants nearby and great hiking as well. It was very nice to be relatively close to Monterey Bay and Big Sur and to stay here, a location which is out of reach of the fog. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. The walls were too thin. You can hear the people in the next room, but it did not ruin our stay. Clean, comfortable, great service, highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This inn is out of the hustle and bustle of the city. There is a small village nearby where the restaurants are great. The wine and cheese at the end of the day is very good. We visited with others who were staying there and the staff.

Breakfast was great with the best waffles, fruit, and assorted breads. Everyone was friendly, rooms clean and tidy. The flowers were beautiful, lots of pillows on the bed, and all we could ask for. We will be going back for a romantic weekend getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is nothing more than a motel in a very good location. We loved walking to excellent restaurants in the evening after a day out but were not happy with the room.
When it was full on the weekend, the TV's in the other rooms were loud and you could hear people coming in and out on the stairs outside our room.
Perhaps other rooms were better, but we had ants. Doors and windows were not sealed well and you could see daylight, so perhaps the bugs just felt free to march in!
The staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet was very basic...more like a motel than a bed and breakfast for sure, although the room was much prettier.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper102, General Manager at Hidden Valley Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Our family is very sorry that we disappointed this guest. We are a little Country Inn and in spite of our routine pest control efforts, ants are occasionally finding their way in. We certainly are always available to immediately take care of that.
Sometimes, especially when some guest are not showing enough consideration for their neighbors, noise can be a problem. Again, we encourage our guest to call the Manager On Duty to take whatever action is neccessary.
We will continue to work hard in trying to take care of all of our guests needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel Valley
1.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
317 reviews
10.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
17.5 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
10.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Sky Lodge
Blue Sky Lodge
#3 of 5 in Carmel Valley
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Inn

Property: Hidden Valley Inn
Address: 102 W Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9573 (Formerly Country Garden Inns)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hidden Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All in-room amenities may not be available in every room. Please call the front desk for assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hidden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Garden Inns Hotel Carmel Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing