We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rustic Sunbathed Bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vineyard Bistro of Carmel Valley - CLOSED

Vineyard Bistro of Carmel Valley
6 Pilot Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9515
831-659-5020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6PILOT RD
Verneuil-en-Bourbonnais, France
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Rustic Sunbathed Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Vineyard Bistro at 6 Pilot Road in the Carmel Valley Village is well worth the drive to enjoy its charming setting of tasty selections, both inside its cozy adobe and outside in the garden, where dogs are welcomed too. The menu appears to be flirting with French cuisine.However, the owner and his son are Peruvian and selection of Peruvian entrées would be a welcomed addition to their very good selections. I would recommend that a tad less oil be used in the preparation of their selections in order to better ensure the pleasurable tastes afforded by the chef's well proportioned selection of spices and herbs. Dinning at The Vineyard Bistro is not a rushed experience, nor should it be as we are unfortunately too accustomed to doing. One should enjoy the pleasures of dinning in a relaxed fashion and this bistro offers it in a most welcomed way. There is room for gradual improvement and with the support of discriminating customers, who care to offer their recommendations in a constructive fashion, this will be achieved to everyone's pleasure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank John Wm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great lunch in Carmel Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We just had lunch here and thought everything was great. This place is tucked down a side street, so the outdoor seating is very pleasant. We both had the vegetable panini, and it was truly delicious (hint: get it on the sour dough bread). The prices were extremely reasonable, including the wines by the glass. The decor inside is very charming. Give this place a try next time you are in Carmel Valley.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JennysMom08003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great date spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a delightful dinner here. We chose to sit inside because it was chilly out. The ambiance is very cozy. The service was prompt and knowledgable. The chef/owners son was our waiter and took great care of us. He knew a lot about all the local wines. I had the pork chop witch had a great apple chutney. Next time we will come for lunch so we can sit outside and enjoy the views of the valley!

Helpful?
2 Thank Surfkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
140 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Save Your Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nice outdoor seating area, very attentive service, reasonable prices and POOR food. I just don't get it. We literally walked into the wrong place. The Cork Screw restaurant is right around the corner.

Everything tastes like it came right off a Sysco Fast Food Supply truck. From salad to soup and bread to sandwiches preparation was completely uninspiring. With at least four good other choices within walking distance Vineyard Bistro shouldn't even be considered.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monterey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for dinner out in the Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a spot that almost gives Rustica a run for the money. Very nice atmosphere, you can eat inside or out, excellent selection and always friendly people serving and managing. I had the rack of lamb and it was cooked exactly as it should be, not over or undercooked like it happens so many other places. My friend had the halibut and the sauce was perfect. Pricing is a little on the high side, but given the quality of both the food and the service, the nice atmosphere and the fact you can get in the door, this is a very fair deal. I like how Jimmy comes around to the table to make sure everything is ok-I think they really do care about the customer's experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dave j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vineyard Bistro of Carmel Valley also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing