We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice staff”
Review of Will’s Fargo - CLOSED

Will’s Fargo
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Village Drive
Description: The storied origins of the Holman Ranch Tavern stretch back to 1928 when a quaint brick watering spot was built in the center of Carmel Valley Village to serve weary travelers on their way to and from the therapeutic Tassajara Hot Springs. From the day it was constructed through today, this roadhouse has gone by many names: The Carousel and Will’s Fargo Dining House & Saloon to name a few. From a teahouse to a steakhouse complete with its own butcher shop, this historic building has been home to locals and visitors alike and housed many a celebration. In November 2014, The Lowder family from Alabama purchased this iconic building with the intent of restoring it and bringing it into the fold of their thriving wine and events business established at the 400 acre Holman Ranch, also built in 1928. In Spring 2016, Holman Ranch Tavern completed its transformation into an establishment known for serving delicious concoctions alongside a menu that pairs these libations with food to share. Under every owner since it was built, the Tavern has been the site of California friendliness, now with a touch of Southern hospitality sprinkled in. Whatever the name, it has always provided Visitors and Locals alike with a soft seat to rest, a hearty drink and comforting food. Welcome to the Holman Ranch Tavern.
Carmel Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, nice staff”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

If you are looking for a good steak or lamb, this is a wonderful restaurant. The lighting is calming and it's great for the family or a couple getting out for "date night." The staff is always very friendly and they serve excellent cocktails. The only dish I don't order here anymore is the fish. Too much sauce on it truth be told. Other than that, it's one of our favorite restaurants in the village of Carmel Valley.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    50
    20
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice steakhouse, nothing special”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

They do steaks well here, but it would be nice if they offered prime grade beef. The menu says a couple of them are "prime", and maybe they are. Anyway, they are good, so are the salads. Liked the raviolis, even had the sweetbreads. All in all, above average, reliable go-to steakhouse. Full bar, rustic atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Racist and bad service”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

They leave you a long time waiting,bring you the menu 5 mins later when it was pretty empty. They offered us you bread & butter and never brought it. I came with my daughter, we are Mexicans and ww felt the racism.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandera, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“GREAT STEAKS ON THE PATIO”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a great dinner on the patio on a Monday night. Service was great. One salmon and 3 Rib Eye steaks all cooked correctly. We have eaten here many times since 1977, and glad to see Will's is still a decent place go. Change has affected all the world, but by and large I would recommend Will's as a great place to have dinner. And on a Monday, when many other stores are closed, they did a nice job of caring flor us..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5/15/14 dinner was a disapointment”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were told at Bernardus Winery that this was a good place to go. Surrounding were nice appetizers good main course a disappointment. I ordered the prime rib special med rare and got well done with no flavor. I showed this to the waiter and he told me that the chef said I had received the last med rare they had. Seriously my 5:30 PM order and they ran out of med rare and gave me well done and did not offer to make this right.
Carmel Valley has some great restaurants but this is not one of them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Will’s Fargo also viewed

 
Carmel Valley, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing