We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT STEAKS ON THE PATIO”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Will’s Fargo - CLOSED

Will’s Fargo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Village Drive
Description: The storied origins of the Holman Ranch Tavern stretch back to 1928 when a quaint brick watering spot was built in the center of Carmel Valley Village to serve weary travelers on their way to and from the therapeutic Tassajara Hot Springs. From the day it was constructed through today, this roadhouse has gone by many names: The Carousel and Will’s Fargo Dining House & Saloon to name a few. From a teahouse to a steakhouse complete with its own butcher shop, this historic building has been home to locals and visitors alike and housed many a celebration. In November 2014, The Lowder family from Alabama purchased this iconic building with the intent of restoring it and bringing it into the fold of their thriving wine and events business established at the 400 acre Holman Ranch, also built in 1928. In Spring 2016, Holman Ranch Tavern completed its transformation into an establishment known for serving delicious concoctions alongside a menu that pairs these libations with food to share. Under every owner since it was built, the Tavern has been the site of California friendliness, now with a touch of Southern hospitality sprinkled in. Whatever the name, it has always provided Visitors and Locals alike with a soft seat to rest, a hearty drink and comforting food. Welcome to the Holman Ranch Tavern.
Mentone, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“GREAT STEAKS ON THE PATIO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a great dinner on the patio on a Monday night. Service was great. One salmon and 3 Rib Eye steaks all cooked correctly. We have eaten here many times since 1977, and glad to see Will's is still a decent place go. Change has affected all the world, but by and large I would recommend Will's as a great place to have dinner. And on a Monday, when many other stores are closed, they did a nice job of caring flor us..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    50
    20
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5/15/14 dinner was a disapointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were told at Bernardus Winery that this was a good place to go. Surrounding were nice appetizers good main course a disappointment. I ordered the prime rib special med rare and got well done with no flavor. I showed this to the waiter and he told me that the chef said I had received the last med rare they had. Seriously my 5:30 PM order and they ran out of med rare and gave me well done and did not offer to make this right.
Carmel Valley has some great restaurants but this is not one of them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surprise breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Steak and eggs were perfect. Help your self Bloody Mary bar. Open weekends for breakfast and brunch/ food and service very good. Just started opening for breakfast on weekends. Great news.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
670 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

This restaurant came recommended but was not impressed. Loud, food only fair and way over priced. Felt like a tourist & fudged like one too

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mmm STEAK!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Wills Fargo has been here for years. My grandfather used to come here and picked out his own steak from the butcher up front. Sadly, there is no more butcher up front.

The place is dark...romantic, in ways. Old Carmel charm.

My husband celebrated Valentine's Day here. We ordered the calamari appetizer. It literally comes in a giant salad bowl! So much squid! Our meal came with a soup or salad. We both chose the lobster bisque and liked it. I had the ribeye and a baked potato as my entree and I fell in love! It was so good! Flavorful, moist, and perfect. My husband ordered something similar and liked it as well.

Pricey, but great for a special occasion.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Will’s Fargo also viewed

Carmel Valley, CA
Carmel Valley, CA
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing