We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Over the top dining at Wickets Bistro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wickets - CLOSED

Wickets
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Laureles Grade
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over the top dining at Wickets Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

As Carmel Valley locals we often have lunch on the outdoor patio at Wickets. Last Saturday for a change from all of the other local restaurants we went there for dinner. After a hard week we wanted to treat ourselves to nice evening. We were greeted warmly by some of the staff members that always give us great service.
We started with martinis, chilled oysters and their pommes frites - great combination to start off a foodie night. For our entrees I ordered the braised pork cheeks served with mash potatoes and frisee with a truffle dressing; and my wife ordered the raviolis "Du Royans' with spinach, wild mushrooms in a parmigiano reggiano cream sauce. Both were perfectly prepared with multiple layers of flavors. The portions were generous so we good linger over each bite. We ordered a bottle of Melville Chardonnay from the Santa Inez Valley and at $40.00 a bottle it was truly the "hole in the wine list". In fact the menu items are fairly priced across the board particularly given the exceptional quality,
The evening reaffirmed that Wickets is one of the top restaurants in the area- chef Cal Stamenov is always on his game.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solvang, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food in the Carmel Valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had breakfast and dinner at Wickets Bistro while staying at the Bernardus Lodge. Our food was delicious and the staff very helpful and attentive. I enjoyed the chicken hash for breakfast and their omelets are very good and a good portion. My wife particularly enjoyed their chicken liver pate. My “big-eye” tuna was also very good and well-prepared. One great feature is the outdoor patio, and we enjoyed drinks by the fireplace a couple of times. Our waiter even knew our drink preferences. Mine was a Monterey Rye Manhattan – perfectly prepared. Great food and wonderful staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific wine and Outdoor CA at its best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Marinas 2009 was was superb.
The grilled artichoke was extremely fresh. The food is good overall, while the setting is beautiful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodnwinesnobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Choice To Eat in Carmel Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I am a vegan. The chef was very accommodating. When you call to make a reservation they will ask if you have any food sensitivities. The food is extremely fresh. You can dress casual. They have a fire pit which it is great to sit and eat dessert/drink coffee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holamamam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We liked everything about it. Every need was met and with a smile!!! The menu changes daily and everything that was ordered was presented beautifully!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wickets also viewed

 
Carmel Valley, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing