We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant”
Review of Marinus At Bernardus Lodge - CLOSED

Marinus At Bernardus Lodge
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Laureles Grade
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Ambience was great, food was delicious, and they had a huge selection of wine list. Portion of food should have been larger. My husband ordered scallops from entree menu and was served with 2 scallops.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustBeMe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    19
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best special occasion meal we have had in quite sometime”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

from the cocktail to the wine selection and finally the Black Truffle Risotto - over the top. Just exquisite.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanielsonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exceptional restaurant”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I did ordered the tasting menu. Everything was absolutely delicious. I wanted to lick the plates clean! The dessert was underwhelming. It was smaller than I imagined. I know after 5 courses of delicious food, guests might feel full. But I felt the chocolate buttermilk cake should have been larger.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluesushi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to eat”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Extraordinary food. While not cheap, it is a GREAT value. Would go back tomorrow. Fabulous wine list. Extraordinary presentation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gdmack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

On very short notice, we booked the Bernardus Lodge for one night and also made reservations at Marinus for the night we arrived. The time slots available were 6:00 pm and 8:30, so I chose the 6:00 time slot. We were seated immediately, and everything went very smoothly. We chose to do the chef’s tasting menu (with wine pairing for one person, which they let us split between the two of us). There was one dish on the menu which neither of us would be able to eat (personal preference, not an allergy issue) and the chef was gracious enough to make a substitution (which we both thought was one of the better dishes we ate that evening!) It was a lovely meal – the food was great, the service was exemplary, and I’d be very happy to have dinner there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orkdldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marinus At Bernardus Lodge also viewed

 
Carmel Valley, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing