We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Started off with dessert” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lokal Restaurant

Lokal Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 30 Restaurants in Carmel Valley
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Watsonville, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Started off with dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Exploring the village, stopped in at Lokal (I heard about it on the internet). The waitress working was very knowledgeable, and patient as the group didn't know if we were ready to eat, just wanted to have something to drink or what. When a drink was decided to be in order, then it took 3 of the 4 of us to figure out what that would be, and the waitress kindly and patiently offered tastings of the beers and wine. While drinking our beverages, we decided to start with a dessert that was on the chalkboard wall and it was heavenly. A chocolate mouse with olive oil and sea salt - definitely a good choice (provided by our waitress). While there (we were only the second party to arrive) the first party was being served their meal and what went by definitely looked very appetizing and smelled great. We will definitely come back for a full dinner the next time in town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1redheartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    20
    7
    4
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

we're lunch patrons like the fresh well prepared reasonable priced fare. tried dinner last night , blown away. the Alaskan and the California halibut , yep we had both .were each uniquely presented and popcorn squash soup then Eggnog dessert. Oh my.
Don't come here if you don't have time to wait for food but find time to complain or misunderstand the term family style serving. Star quality chef, nice staff outside patio.Happy holidays.
Mike & Sunday

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Came here on the recommendation of a friend and was blown away. It's a small kitchen and they are still working out some growing pains, so be ok with waiting a bit. But the food is completely worth it. Hands down one of the best meals I've had in years. The flavors are so perfect. There wasn't a single bite left. Also, the visit by Patches the dog was a cute surprise - he was our buddy at the table for the night!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

After reading reviews of Lokal, we expected great food but dodgy service. We came for lunch on a Saturday and we were pleasantly surprised by all aspects of our dining experience. First, the food was splendid--fresh ingredients expertly cooked. Second, the service was friendly and wonderful. Our server always checked in with us and catered to our every need. Third, the atmosphere was quite nice--huge windows, lots of sunshine and interiors that are very Carmel Valley chic. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ninja1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible service and mediocre food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just about the worst service we have ever seen. We have been there twice, once for breakfast and once for dinner. Each visit was characterized by seemingly endless waits, delivery of the dinner items (quasi tapas dishes) in a random order as cooked (we were warned) so that each of us got to watch the other person eat, and then they got to watch us eat with long waits in-between, very small portion sizes, and irritable servers. Warning: Don’t ever politely ask them what happened to the meal or be prepared for a lot of muttering and snide comments. We did the breakfast first and then went back for more punishment on another day for dinner (yes we should have known better but we were out in the Valley and wanted to give it another try despite the initial weak impression-our mistake).

The place looked nice from the outside, sort of a rustic Cowboy Carmel Valley look. The décor certainly wasn’t a problem, the problem seemed to be that either the servers or management, or both, really don’t seem to care about whether the customer is happy or not. If they were, we don’t see how it could be quite this poor.

The food quality itself was all over the place. I had an eggs benedict (good) and he had his waffles with fruit. The waffles were undercooked and runny. I thought anyone could cook waffles easily-apparently not. The dinner dishes were tapas, and several were pretty good, but you didn’t get much of a serving size on each so the price got up there because you had to order several each in order to really get anything to eat. They were really more like appetizers than anything else. We had a couple of the on-tap brews, which were fine although served in tiny glasses, so there again you needed several in order to get through the long waits. Prices individually aren’t bad, but don’t think that you will get out without a really substantial bill due to the serving sizes.

One last warning-visit the restroom only after dinner-it was pretty grubby and obviously had not been cleaned up for a while. It would definitely be off-putting for most girls before dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lokal Restaurant also viewed

 
Carmel Valley, CA
 

Been to Lokal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing