We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the ambiance and the wine... On a nice day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Georis

Georis
Attraction details
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Go for the ambiance and the wine... On a nice day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great wine and beautiful grounds,. tasting room is a hacienda-type building with Spanish/Mexican type vintage repo artifacts, as well as dvds/books for sale. But what I really enjoy is the grounds, with native plantings, very "mission-esque", with tables set out for sipping and noshing. The tastings come with a fee- $15-25 IIRC. But you get 5-6 glasses of good pours to taste, along with a few cracker/cheese bites. The whites are great, and I also like the cab franc (red) when it is available. They are known for their Merlots, but I don't generally like Merlot. Their Merlot is actually drinkable to me :-)
Very nice relaxing venue to hang out for awhile. I am not sure I would enjoy venue as much if weather did not permit for outside seating.

Georis owns Corkscrew restaurant aside the tasting room, and it is a nice place to continue your Carmel Valley experience with a decent lunch, tho I am not overly impressed with the food. They also own La Bicyclette in Carmel as well as, to my knowledge, partial ownership in Casanova, a very upscale restaurant in Carmel with outstanding wine list.

I advise to come here on a day that is not rainy.... even a cool, clear day is enjoyable here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank montereychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They seemed pre-occupied”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

It was raining and we arrived a few minutes before they hung out their 'open' sign. We were placed at a table, were totally ignored by the staff for at least 20 minutes--no menus, no water, no specials described--and continued to be treated like 'step children' throughout the entire lunch. We will not revisit and we are LOUD locals.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank tehachap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Georis Wines will Make You Happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Right around the corner from the Corkscrew restaurant is Georis winery's tasting room. Georis does a really good job with premium and moderate Bordeaux-style wines (Merlot, Cab, Cab Franc), especially the merlots. I am especially fond of their super-premium Clos des Moutons (sheep pen). One can either enjoy a sit-down tasting on the Georis patio, or buy a bottle and take it next door to the Corkscrew for lunch.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great wine, great staff, great pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The staff is warm and welcoming, and the wines are excellent. They serve complimentary hors d'oeuvres when you purchase a wine tasting. Their wood-fired pizza is outstanding!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RickThePick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
249 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“I shouldn't share... This intimate setting is a rare fine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

This place is amazing... With a small tasting charges it keeps out the riffraff! Beautiful setting,,,,,,, love it!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Brinbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georis also viewed

 

Been to Georis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing