We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't say enough good things about this place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Sky Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Sky Lodge
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Can't say enough good things about this place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We rented one of the two bedroom cottages for 3 nights in August '12 and were surprised at how clean and spacious it was. It appeared to have had some updates since some of these reviews were posted. First of all, the kitchen had all modern appliances, countertops, and flooring. And there were outlet adapters in every plug. Also, the rest of the cottage had what appeared to be new carpet. Yes, the bathroom was original 1950's, but we found the sparkly countertops and pink tile to be charming.
We have and will continue to recommend this place to friends and family for a number of reasons:
The cottages have a grassy front yard separated from the road by large hedges + a fenced in back patio area. This is different from most other hotels where you have a tiny patio (at best) for outdoor space.
The cottage was quite large. I would guess 1000 sq. feet. We comfortably fit 4 adults and 3 young children.
The location was outstanding. Walking distance from wine tasting rooms, gorgeous views of the oak covered hills from the pool, out of the fog zone, near playgrounds and hiking and a river for splashing in.
Most of all, the owners of this place were delightful. They were calm, kind, and responsive to our needs. Their personal touches are all over the main area of the hotel, from a collection of potted plants to patio chairs with wrought-iron suns on them.

We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    56
    20
    10
    12
See reviews for
48
55
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Blue Sky Lodge 12+ years ago for a romantic weekend, returning in August 2012 with our 2 kids and dog. Blue Sky Lodge somehow managed to be the perfect place for both types of getaways, so many years apart.

In a world of $600-per-night luxury resorts and sterile chain hotels there are still a few places that manage to occupy an interesting place completely outside of these realms. The family-owned Blue Sky Lodge has seemingly been operating in pretty much the same relaxed, friendly, small-town way since it opened in 1952. Some of the rooms may not have been updated much since the Eisenhower administration, but that's part of the appeal. I totally dug the yellow linoleum counter top in our bathroom, as well as the push-button phone in the nook on the wall. In some places, "old" can equal drab and depressing. But not here, where there's something comforting and timeless about the entire vibe. (We rented one of the two-bedroom apartments on Via Contenta, a short walk/drive from the hotel office).

Many a developer would drool at the opportunity to open a trendy resort on this primo piece of land, with its sparkling pool watched over by the verdant hills of Carmel Valley, and just a short walk downhill to the center of Carmel Village. There's a nice hot tub next to the pool and a cozy and interesting sitting room just off the pool, filled with dusty antique trunks, old books, comfy couches, and an old piano.

Blue Sky Lodge also stands out for being completely dog friendly. Canine family members can stay with you in your room! I asked the owner if we could bring our dog into the pool area, figuring he'd probably say that was one area off limits to pets, or at least present me with a long list of rules we would would need to follow in order to bring our dog into the swimming area. But no. The owner almost apologetically said I'd have to keep our pooch on a leash, but otherwise, the gate was open to one and all.

We (and our dog) at an amazing time at Blue Sky Lodge and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerepesi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Booked a stay recently during a big race w'end at Laguna Seca which is a short 20 mins away. And with 3 of us we chose the one bedroom cottage which features day beds for the extra person.

The interesting thing about the cottages is they're actually separated from the main part of the lodge, situated up a hill on a different road...but there is a walking trail that connects you back to the office/pool.

So this review only covers that portion as we never used the pool, library, etc...

Simply put, this place is old school! And not in the retro chic, refurbed kinda way, but in the it hasn't been updated since it was built in the 60's (?). Which isn't necessarily a bad thing but the fact that one of the 3 adjectives they use to describe the accommodations is "modern"...the most modern thing about our cottage was the microwave, which looked to be one of the first models built circa 1982, so....

The bathroom is extremely bare bones, no frills whatsoever. Shower head is about as cheap as they come. Think communal camping type set up.

And during our 2 night stay, we encountered not 1, not 2 but 3 medium sized spiders hanging out on the bedroom walls. Not a big deal but if you're an arachnophobic, this is not the place for you.

On the positive side, the cottage features a working fireplace, private patio, covered garage and lovely gardens. And despite the set up being rustic & old, the place was very clean and bed was comfortable.

Worth noting though that if you're sleeping 3, the only bathroom entrance is in the bedroom so 3rd person will have to walk through your room.

So overall, a bare bones but clean experience. My two issues are with the "modern" branding & the value of what we paid. Granted we stayed on a race w'end but still was about $75 a night more than something of this caliber should cost.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Maybe you have tio have lived through the 50's and 60's to really get a kick out of this adorable lodge. clean, quiet and full of nostalgia. Even the turquoise and black tiiles in the bathroom and brushed aluminum canister wall lamps........truly a sentimental journey! Our room had a balcony which overlooked the oaks and valley. Hot tub, pool and beautiful lawn and gardens just a short walk. The lodge is nestled under beautiful, spreading white oaks - Carmel Valley at it's best!
Birds, deer and quiet, quiet...........going back in October - can't wait!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed one night and had a good rest. Several decent restaurants you can walk to from the Lodge. Rooms were cold on arrival but had great heaters. Free parking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VooDooTravelPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Will never go back and do not recommend unless you are used to living in a trailer park standards. The accommodations were well below my standards. I will gladly pay more to stay somewhere better if we ever return to the valley. It could be nice due to the setting with some updating and detailing (appears nothing has been done in twenty+ years). The pool appears large in photos but not large enough to swim laps before hitting the wall. The hot tub was 101 degrees with terribly low jets plus the motor for the jets was loud and rough sounding. Walls in the unit were covered with dirty marks, paint chipped out. The furniture felt so dirty (dog hairs) we used towels to sit on. The kitchen is very minimal, ie; a few cups, bowls, silverware, toaster - that is it! All electric outlets are only two prong - one three prong adapter was provided which meant moving from coffee maker to microwave, etc. Heaters are very old in the wall units. The bathroom heater blew the breaker when showering with the exhaust fan on. Could not find electric panel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Most of the reviews pretty much describe my experience. Loved the 60's feel of the property and furnishings. Terrific location - just far enough from Carmel, but very convenient to a lot. The dogs loved it! Garland Ranch Park is nearby and is great for the dogs but it gets very busy very early. Laptop etc Users Note: the patio room we had did not have an outlet for 3-prong electrical device so you may want to bring an adaptor plug or two (the front desk graciously loaned us two). Patio room was very nice - cozy and very private patio area with sliding panels that can be closed off or opened up - perfect for sunbathing. The beds are small though. The grounds are small and tidy, and the beautiful oak trees are gorgeous. Was glad we had a kitchen as there didn't seem to be anywhere close by open for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissScarlett56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel Valley
2.1 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
10.9 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
11.1 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Carmel Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
17.4 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Lodge

Property: Blue Sky Lodge
Address: 10 Flight Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Sky Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Accommodations in the Village of Carmel Valley Whether you're visiting sunny Carmel Valley for business, leisure or a bit of both, rest assured your stay will be comfortable, convenient and blissful at Blue Sky Lodge. Treat yourself to a relaxing get-away and enjoy the comforts and convenience of Blue Sky Lodge. The peaceful setting of Blue Sky Lodge is nestled in the charming village of Carmel Valley; just steps away from 20 wine tasting rooms, fine dining, antique shops and art galleries. Our Carmel Valley hotel rooms offer: private patios or sundecks, complimentary Wi-Fi, gardens, an outdoor pool and much more. Make Blue Sky Lodge home while you experience the sunny village of Carmel Valley. Located only twelve miles inland from Carmel-by-the-sea and fifteen miles from Monterey, Blue Sky Lodge is just minutes from the Central Coast's top attractions. Explore the premier wineries of Carmel Valley; enjoy the shops of Carmel, or visit the world famous Monterey Aquarium, and Fisherman's Wharf. Make your upcoming vacation to Carmel Valley relaxing, memorable and stress-free by staying with us. Our pet fee is $20 per pet, per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Sky Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sky Hotel Carmel Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing