We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goof Food, Slow Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valley Kitchen

Valley Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Valley Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Carmel Valley Road
Description: Executive Chef Tim Wood's culinary exploits-many involving fruits and vegetables from The Ranch's Organic Garden-are on full display for breakfast, lunch and dinner in our Lodge Restaurant. Indoor, outdoor and lounge seating are all available.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
238 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Goof Food, Slow Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a breakfast and dinner here while staying at the resort. In general, the food was very good, but the service was not as prompt and attentive as you would expect at a property of this type. The beet salad, salmon and short ribs all tasted great. There is a nice selection of wines by the glass. If none of the desserts appeal to you, don't forget that there are smores served out by the fire pits near the pool.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glftrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    39
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Upland, California
Level Contributor
552 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Beautiful site, not so beautiful service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Waiting for a friend. Took a looooong time to get someone to come over to our table and take an order.

Even AFTER going back to the hostess and ASKING for service.

Reasonable wine list. But overpriced.

Did NOT follow our order for an appetizer.

But VERY nice view from the outside terrace and fire pit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Clubby and family friendly with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our dinner at the lodge was very, very good. The room felt like a country club, with a casual tone. My crab cake was one of the best I've ever tasted. My husband's steak was perfectly done, and he loved it. The folks there provided the makings for som'ores to take to the fire to create dessert. A very nice evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not en par with high-end resort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Visited Ranch 3 times in 2014...not at all impressed with the restaurant on site. Had to eat there on several occasions (only option in the valley). Food and service were decent but nothing to write home about. Lot's of room for improvement here. We have taken the approach of minimizing our on site meals as much as possible.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TRIPMEISTER2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Food was good but service spotty over several meals. They need to spend more time checking in and ensuring that the meal is progressing well.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JPOS_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley Kitchen also viewed

Carmel Valley, CA
Carmel Valley, CA
 
Carmel Valley, CA
 

Been to Valley Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing