We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boekenoogen Winery Tasting Room

Boekenoogen Winery Tasting Room
Attraction details
Southern California
Level Contributor
366 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

How can you not visit a winery with the name Boekenoogen! The white wine has a distinctive flavor, refreshing and unique. The staff is friendly. Try the Syrah, it is quite nice too. Very down-to-earth staff that treated us really nice. Mrs. Boekenoogen, thank you for a lovely experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank whocareswhoiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Tasting Experience - Family Owned Winery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We enjoyed tasting a variety of whites and reds at the tasting room of this family owned winery. The vineyards are in the Santa Lucia Highlands and the tasting room in the Carmel Valley. Very nice Viognier, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Syrah. Being able to discuss how the fields are irrigated and managed and how the varieties were selected at their vineyards added to our experience. They also recommended a great lunch spot (Cafe Rustica) which made for a nice afternoon of tasting and food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nas05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely Tasting Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We did a tasting here one Sunday with a group of friends. We were able to sit on the patio and enjoy our tasting. We packed a picnic and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The wine was superb as was the service. The man who poured our tasting was very informative about the wines. This has been one of our favorite tastings in the valley.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ebbosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fair wine, but odd experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Carmel Valley is predominantly Burgundian so when I saw the Viognier on the tasting list, I was excited to try. Wanting to skip the Chardonnays, I asked to taste the Viognier, but the pourer recommended tasting it last because it is their "biggest" wine (?) I could maybe understand how a Viognier could stand up to a light Pinot Noir, but they had Syrahs and even a Petite Sirah, which they poured before finally allowing us to taste the Viognier. The wine was good, but it's hard to know for sure since my palate was shot after the Petite Sirah. The Viognier was decidedly not bigger than the reds they poured, but I'm sure the staff has been trained to serve the wines in this order so I am thinking that serving the reds first is to mask something undesirable in the Viognier. The server was a little brash and too much of a salesman for my tastes. They have a nice patio area, but we were not inclined to stay long.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
234 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great Wines... Great Knowledge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Found this tasting room to be great! Amazing wines... Only comment to staff like your wines... "breath a little!". So much knowledge there and stories were interesting. I will go back! Carmel Valley sooo much better than NAPA!

Helpful?
1 Thank Brinbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boekenoogen Winery Tasting Room also viewed

 

Been to Boekenoogen Winery Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing