We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Carmel
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
186
73
31
16
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
186
73
31
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews granola bagels hot tub fire pit wine hour boutique hotel cream cheese glass of wine lovely hotel walking distance comfortable beds shops and restaurants few blocks common areas other guests road trip street parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent very friendly staff, and very clean public areas and room. Great breakfast spread with nice touches, although needed a GF protein option. However our room was unfortunate - very small room that adjoined next door and didn’t have any windows. For this reason I’ve rated low on room and value. Get an upstairs room that not the corner if you go.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank precitacottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelBrettB, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Precitacottage,

Thank you for your review. Your feedback provides information important to our ongoing improvement efforts. We endeavor to provide all of our guests with an exceptional experience, and we clearly failed to do so during your recent stay with us.

I apologize for your disappointment with your room assignment and I regret any inconvenience this caused. We do have many different room types and sizes.

Given another opportunity, I am confident that we can provide the memorable experience that you should expect at Hotel Carmel. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should your future plans include a visit to Carmel. We would be most happy to personally arrange your reservation. I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards,
Brett B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A charming hotel nestled in Carmel, free breakfast,( which was great). Close to beach and downtown. very walkable. The rooms were clean and nicely done. We had a fireplace in our room to add to the ambiance. Staff was friendly and accommodating, made our room available for check in quickly. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GlobeTrotting34188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelBrettB, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear GlobeTrotting34188,

I was so happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your encouraging words are appreciated by the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Brett B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is very cute and in a great location. The staff is very nice and helpful. The only issue is the rooms are old and you can hear everything going on in the other rooms. It was impossible to sleep with the noise in the room next to us (snoring). The paper thin walls and older sunken in beds was a bit of a disappointment.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank stephgunnasteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelBrettB, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Stephgunnasteph,

Thank you for your review. Your feedback provides information important to our ongoing improvement efforts. We endeavor to provide all of our guests with an exceptional experience, and we clearly failed to do so during your recent stay with us.

I apologize for your disappointment with your room assignment and I regret any inconvenience this caused. We do have many different room types and sizes.

Given another opportunity, I am confident that we can provide the memorable experience that you should expect at Hotel Carmel. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should your future plans include a visit to Carmel. We would be most happy to personally arrange your reservation. I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards,
Brett B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

The venue is very charming. The room was spacious, clean and welcoming. Very comfortable beds and good breakfast. The staff was nice and helpful. Great pool and fireplace. I would definitively stay there again.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank criman2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelBrettB, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear criman2018,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impression of Hotel Carmel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, your kind words about our service are appreciated by all of us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Brett B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

A beautiful hotel with amazing commodities!! Close to downtown Carmel and the beach. A must stay!!! Pack your car, your children and your dogs and head right over. (Be ready to pay $50 per dog though! ).

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank marielamartin3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelBrettB, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Dear marielamartin3030,

Thank you for your kind words. I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,
Brett B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews