We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little French restaurant”
Review of L'escargot

L'escargot
Reserve with OpenTable
L'escargot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: L'Escargot is a French restaurant in Carmel, California with a warm, romantic dining room area and with plenty of space between tables.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great little French restaurant”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stumbled on this tiny little restaurant while walking thru downtown Carmel. Had a great meal - outstanding Sea Bass & Veal. Oddly enough the only disappointment was my escargot appetizer - tough and not very tasty - only thing keeping me from giving it 5 stars.
Would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEG009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    34
    11
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sweet little venue”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A little hidden treasure of Old Carmel. The service is good and the duck is amazing. O enjoyed my French Onion soup. Excellent wine list

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DonnaNPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Delightful French”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience here. Wednesday is half price wine list night. Good thing we showed up on Wednesday, as the wine list is a bit pricey here. At 50% off, the Darioush Cabernet was excellent! Dino, our waiter, is great - friendly service, really took care of us. We met the Chef, a down-to-earth gentleman who really knows how to create a lovely dining experience. The atmosphere is very quaint, lovely and warm. The French Onion Soup is excellent. The veal sweetbreads are superb! We shared the rabbit special - OMG - incredible. The apple tarte tatin is light and perfect. Everytime we come to this area, we chose to dine here. it is simply a "hidden gem" although we noticed very table is now reserved. If you are traveling to Carmel, please do not hesitate to dine here. Dino treats everyone special - locals, visitors alike. The Chef and his staff know how to run a bistro! Casual upscale dining at its best. The menu even offered braised goat along with many classic preparations......something on this menu for everyone. The table next to us ordered a beautiful rack of lamb and petrole sole - they looked fantastic too. Highly recommend this restaurant in Carmel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whocareswhoiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“rediscovering an old favorite”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had sort of forgotten about this restaurant for a few years. We went back and had a basically pleasant experience. Upon entering there was a rather unpleasant smell (food spilled on the carpet smell?) but we soon became accustomed to it and didn't notice it. Service was very good.
The food was generally good but not what was posted on their web site. I was disappointed that they didn't have what I had pre-planned to order. Rib eye steak was very fatty, but the sole was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodtogotoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarzana ca
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“everything great about France with Cali influences”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Everything from the French Californian Caesar salad down to the Salmon with pepito seeds was wonderful. You walk into a french country side restaurant that welcomes you in the best of home town feelings, with a wait staff that is highly trained and also extremely welcoming. It is the best of French cuisine with a truly Californian twist that will please the french gourmet to the Californian foody. It is 100% apparent that the ever humble and amazingly talented Chef Kerry knows what he is doing and how to happily encourage his staff to follow his direction.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRTStark22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'escargot also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to L'escargot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing