We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Bicyclette

La Bicyclette
Ranked #8 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The food was good quality and well presented. The service warmed up and was good once it did. The second room where we sat was a bit utilitarian and lacking in atmosphere. The tables are very, very close together and threading your way to the rest rooms was an adventure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsmills55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    353
    92
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
284 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Stopped by on a Food Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Oh my goodness! We stopped by on a food tour. They had 2 pizzas for us to sample. I loved the wild mushroom! It was the most amazing pizza I have ever had! The crust was thin and crunchy / soft at the same time - but not soggy or gooey. Just perfect! I think the other was a salmon pizza. The mushroom was just super fantastic! Everyone on the tour loved it. The wood fired oven is what makes it. They make their own bread every day too. What an amazing place Carmel and her restaurants!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple rustic & delicious fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were seated next to the Pizza bar. Although the table was a tad shaky I have always adored the casual and rustic feel of this European bistro so don't expect a swanky restaurant setting. Great way to end a day walking the streets of Carmel by the Sea. There are plenty of locals and tourists who are fans so definitely book ahead if possible as there is always a queue!

Our starters included a grilled beet salad and escargots. Both were delicious and memorable; we had plenty of freshly baked bread from the pizza oven to mop up the garlicky butter too! They are not a fancy place which preempts every patron's whims, but all you have to do is ask and their servers will do their best to fulfill your requests. Their pizzas are pretty special. Thin crust and very italian. I tried the funghi and parma ham/arugular. Both were tasty and satisfying!

This is a great place to have straightforward bistro fare packed with bold flavours and seasonal produce. Other than pizzas, their menu changes daily. So variety is not the name of the game. Come for what the Chef is cooking that day!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank staceleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We wanted a light dinner and ordered two different individual pizzas which were both very good. Because our table wasn't available at our reservation time we were offered two glasses of wine while we waited. Overall an enjoyable experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quest2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal in Carme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Been to Carmel a # of times and this is the best place I have found for food and service. Pork was very good and steaks, salad and salmon were excellent. My wife is a salmon seeker and said it was the best she had eaten in many years.Had a great server named Laura who was efficent and very nice lady. She brought the chef ot to meet us unanounced which was a nice touch. A couple of locals recommended the place and they were right on. A bit expensive but worth the price. Corkage very high at $30 and could be more reasonable. Good wine list. Pretty high mark up on bottles.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tgdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bicyclette also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to La Bicyclette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing