We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bicyclette

La Bicyclette
Ranked #5 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to find this restaurant in Carmel. It's charming, good food and friendly service. The place is busy so reservations recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    337
    84
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I love the atmosphere in this restaurant. We didn't make any reservation (AGAIN..should have do better planning next time) The host told us the next available seating will be about an hour and half later. We accepted it happily. They called us less than 30 minutes to come back.

Ordered the escargot for appetizer and Local Champignon pizza. Both taste great especially the pizza. We had couple beers to go with it. My fav beer with the Local Champignon pizza is the Chimay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful lazy breakfast and lunch stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great service, a varied menu for breakfast, lunch and evening meals. Intersting wine list with a nice collection of European as well as US wines. The best bread and the most wonderful coffee. Friendly staff with time to chat

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Dinner, Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner at La Bicyclette; the staff is warm and attentive, the atmosphere is quaint, and the music is a nice background. The food itself was wonderful, with the exception of an overseasoned risotto. We shared a pureed vegetable soup, which was served homestyle at the table and was delicious. We followed with the salad with strawberries and nuts, which was really fresh and flavorful. We were immediately interested in the carrot risotto, which was said to include lemon and truffles. However, it was so heavily flavored with black pepper that the other flavors were overwhelmed; the only disappointment of the night. For dessert, we tried the trifle with almond milk, and a chocolate dessert with cream, raspberries and little sprinkle of salt and olive oil -- it was wonderful. This was the last dinner of a 10-day trip through Northern California, and the atmosphere, service and fresh ingredients were a good cap to our trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JWFArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This bicycle has a flat!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I recently visited La Bicyclette having remembered a wonderful meal we had there years ago. I don't know what happened but this was one of the worst experiences we have ever had in a restaurant. The wait staff was uninterested in offering bread, wine menu or anything else and had a very unprofessional attitude. No one came to our table once we had our food to see if everything was ok, did we need water, anything else. I did ask one waiter for bread and he said it would cost $5 but he didn't know if I wanted that or a slice of bread. I never received either and then when I asked him about it he joked that they couldn't slice it. Other waitstaff were setting up napkins and utensils for tomorrow right next to us and generally ignored us throughout the meal. The most insulting was the waiter with the glasses and plaid shirt who just laughed off any requests. I will never go back and will tell all my friends to do the same.
Maureen Thorp

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureenthorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bicyclette also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to La Bicyclette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing