We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner, Great Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Bicyclette

La Bicyclette
Ranked #8 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Dinner, Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner at La Bicyclette; the staff is warm and attentive, the atmosphere is quaint, and the music is a nice background. The food itself was wonderful, with the exception of an overseasoned risotto. We shared a pureed vegetable soup, which was served homestyle at the table and was delicious. We followed with the salad with strawberries and nuts, which was really fresh and flavorful. We were immediately interested in the carrot risotto, which was said to include lemon and truffles. However, it was so heavily flavored with black pepper that the other flavors were overwhelmed; the only disappointment of the night. For dessert, we tried the trifle with almond milk, and a chocolate dessert with cream, raspberries and little sprinkle of salt and olive oil -- it was wonderful. This was the last dinner of a 10-day trip through Northern California, and the atmosphere, service and fresh ingredients were a good cap to our trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    353
    92
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This bicycle has a flat!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I recently visited La Bicyclette having remembered a wonderful meal we had there years ago. I don't know what happened but this was one of the worst experiences we have ever had in a restaurant. The wait staff was uninterested in offering bread, wine menu or anything else and had a very unprofessional attitude. No one came to our table once we had our food to see if everything was ok, did we need water, anything else. I did ask one waiter for bread and he said it would cost $5 but he didn't know if I wanted that or a slice of bread. I never received either and then when I asked him about it he joked that they couldn't slice it. Other waitstaff were setting up napkins and utensils for tomorrow right next to us and generally ignored us throughout the meal. The most insulting was the waiter with the glasses and plaid shirt who just laughed off any requests. I will never go back and will tell all my friends to do the same.
Maureen Thorp

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureenthorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“yum-yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This restaurant never, ever disappoints. Fresh, cleverly prepared dishes in a vivacious atmosphere with great wait staff. Always busy so reserve if you can. Bon appetite!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsCathyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great wood fire pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was a fun and lively restaurant for lunch. We were seated next to the pizza prep area. It was fun watching our pizza be made and cooked. The service was great and the restaurant energized us for the afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reynolds3701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chef is a genius!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stopped here as part of a Carmel Food Tours. (highly recommend this too!) The owner/chef visited with us and wowed us all with his energy, integrity, community spirit, and genius with all things food. The pizza we sampled was fantastic! It's a popular spot so make reservations.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bicyclette also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to La Bicyclette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing