We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Bicyclette

La Bicyclette
Ranked #6 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
SLO
1 review
“Fun !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Several people recommended this restaurant to my husband and I. We were here several times for dinner. We found the decor charming, the menu healthy yet creative, and the food very good. Service was attentive one of the visits and the other not so much. The restaurant is small and it gets very busy, making it difficult for the staff to move around with ease.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    327
    80
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't Miss La Bicyclette!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This charming and quirky venue is an absolute delight! Crossing the threshold, one has an immediate sense the experience will not be ordinary. Heavenly aromas from the wood burning oven prevail, while the savvy staff and music keep it fresh, upbeat and fun. We celebrated with a small group and had the opportunity to experience many amazing dishes. Artfully paired with exceptional wines, it was perfect! The escargot, done with hazelnuts and garlic in the wood burning oven, served with an assortment of fresh warm breads and a glass of Cab is an amazing memory that calls to me. Cannot wait to return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PanacheProductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Popular place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had breakfast in La Bicyclette on a Saturday and the place was heaving. The food was excellent and I would recommend this - Didnt eat here in the evening but it was packed so its probably good .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeF61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Yummy Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My hubby and I stopped here for breakfast during our Christmas getaway.
It's a very cute restaurant, with obvious European flair. (Love the wood oven!)
Service was fair. The food had exceptional flavor. And - as is the case in this area - a bit on the pricey side. The coffee was good but oh so petite! A few swallows and it was gone.
We'd come back. Might have to give the pizzas a try next time!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaLovesPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great food,great price,great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We originally ate at Bicyclette just after it had opened a few years ago and it was good then.

The format has now changed and the food has got even better. I discovered that they have a new chef there and his love of fresh local produce and good cooking is clearly apparent. Two of us had normal food which was flavoursome and delicious. My daughter had a Pizza and all the people who rave about them in other revues are absolutely correct. She lived in Rome for a year and had to admit that the Pizza here was one of the best she had ever eaten.

The service was friendly and efficient. We ate 2 completely different meals there during the week ( one on July 4th) and both were excellent and good value for money. Absolutely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lordy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bicyclette also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to La Bicyclette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing