We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic tourist town service...”
Review of Nico Restaurant

Nico Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Classic tourist town service...”
Reviewed September 19, 2012


Lured initially from the street by the owner with a promise of a seemingly excellent meal and experience seemed like a good idea. Carmel has many choices for fine dining restaurants so with the clear message that the high prices would be worth it..we were happy to walk in.  That was the last we saw of the owner.

You get charged an automatic 20% service fee...but no service.

I'm from Sydney, Australia. I'm used to "no tipping required" restaurants.

Pouring your own $70USD bottle of wine that the waiter has crumbled a cork into was a bit weird. Then making room on our small table by moving bread plates and cutlery that clearly wasn't required any more is pretty lousy.

I don't know, felt like I could have gone somewhere where the service would have been worth the price tag. 

Perhaps the "guaranteed" service charge..for service or not..is a new concept for me. But hey..we are only here for a night..so it's not like they need to impress us to come back...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smileyky1ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    53
    17
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent service very good food”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Not only were we pleasantly surprised by thefood at this little gem, the espresso was top notch! We ate outside in their quaint garden area and were served Italian food that was so much more than your standard fare. If we lived in the areawe would become regulars.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank aStarduster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Menue sounds great, reality is disappointing”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

first time tourists in Carmel, we hit Nico's restaurant. Looking for something simple, we choose soup of the day and pizza. Soup was italian white beans plus noodles, probably famous/well-known, but the preparation was hopeless: without pepp/seasoning. The pizzas were very average, esp. the dough (which italians should really be able to manage!)
The service was over-attentive, he feeling that they didn't really care became very apparent.
Definitely not good value for money

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geelwortel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Worst Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We went to California for a family vacation. We travelled down the coast. We stopped two nights in Monterey and decided one night to go out to dinner in Carmel. We were so excited, everyone telling us how nice it was. Actually Carmel was very nice except our dining experience. I had to write this review to inform everyone how terrible this restaurant was. The pizza was priced from $12 - 15, which is fine but the crust was a premade crust. It was like a cracker. The sauce was terrible. I won't even tell you what happened to my husband's pizza. He was so disgusted that he did not even eat dinner. My advice is try at your own risk.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank picachu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quality Italian family reataurant with snappy service”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Recommended by a local. This was the perfect end to a long 4th July. Casual relaxed atmosphere with knowledgeable attentive waiters delivering delicious food and wine. Creative menu and good value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank REGards-JNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Nico Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing