We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and a friendly staff!”
Review of Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wayside Inn
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We recently returned from a trip to Carmel. After searching on Tripadvisor, we selected the Wayside Inn because of the comments and also because it seemed to be kid friendly. The trip was perfect. Carmel is such a great little town and the Wayside Inn is in a perfect location for walking to all the shops and restaurants. And, unlike many of the other Inns that we saw, we were able to park in a lot versus street parking. Kelly, the Inn Manager, was really helpful in pointing out places to go eat and see. Also, we have a 1 year old, and Kelly was able to provide us with a pack-n-play, which was a great alternative versus sharing a bed with us. The room was a perfect size - 1 bathroom, 1 bedroom and a den area. My 1 year old had plenty of room to explore. And, the bed was super comfortable. The room decor was a little dated, but very spacious and clean. Also, there was a musty smell when we first walked in - but not too bad. Breakfast was a nice touch - but to be clear, it's not elaborate... basically juice, cereal/milk, yogurt and a pastry. For us, it was more than we typically eat for breakfast so it worked well, but for those looking for a more hearty breakfast, that's not what you will get. Also, the beach is a decent walk - about 11 blocks. But, it was so darn chilly in Carmel (in July!!! Bring a sweater!) there was no chance of us going into the water or hanging out on the beach. As far as price - it seems to be a little pricey overall, but I think that's what you get when in Carmel. To sum it up, for our travel needs, this Inn fit the bill and I would choose to stay again when visiting Carmel!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenncSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 317 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2010

This hotel was very nice, the location is right by everything in Carmel by the Sea. The beds were fantastic!! I would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjp421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We have stayed with other hotels in the Inn By The Sea hotels, but we really liked staying at this location. It was so close to the shops and restaurants, just minutes from your door. The hotel had all the amenities. The room was exceptionally spacious and comfortable, and had plenty of room for our son to roam around and play with his toys. The bed and the comfortor was so warm and comfy, we want to get one for our home. The staff members in the hotel lobby were very nice and even though we could make coffee in our room, it was easier to just walk to the lobby and get a hot cup of coffee or hot water for tea. The cookies were yummy!! We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azulca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Entering the suite at the Wayside Inn, I was thinking I was back in Provence -- the French decor eluded to this. The two rooms were large with that certain element of elegance which suited me to the T. Since we were three women traveling together we each had our own beds and 2 spacious bathroom. The kitchenette was where we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and it was large enough for us to sit at the table. The kitchen was stocked with all necessary utilities to cook if we would have wanted to eat all our meals in but we did enjoy several of the restaurants. The location is excellent -- you leave your car at the B & B and walk to almost anywhere you want. All in all it was a most pleasant experience

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWEETROSE39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We found the Wayside Inn during a previoius trip to Carmel, and are sure glad we did. We were taken by the friendly and outgoing staff, as they were very attentive in showing us around the property. It's not a large inn, about 20 rooms I think, but they have a few different room decors and a variety of rooms to choose from. We had a two bedroom suite with a fireplace, full kitchen and king bed. The bedding was excellent quality and the furnishings were that of an upscale cottage, with a marble bathroom and the kitchen with granite countertop. We thought the value was excellent, as we paid $199 per night and felt like we had our own little apartment in Carmel. The location can't be beat, unless it were on the ocean (but sadly, no inns in town are on the beach). We were right downtown one block from the main street, right next to the shopping area and close to several great restaurants. We hardly used our car. We will be heading back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnojsmythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Way overpriced for what you get - an upgraded motel. Bed was good, everything else so-s0. Breakfast is completely inadequate.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jetjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in the lovely, clean and comfortable Wayside Inn. Our room was one of the best we had during our whole California trip. Right in the centre of Carmel and good walking distance to all restaurants and beach. Breakfast delivered to your room is a nice touch. Room had all the facilities we needed including iron, fridge and coffee machine. Only criticism is the breakfast was a little on the light side - my Mom had stayed there previously (2007) and told me the breakfast was amazing, but when we've compared notes it seems the one we got was a lot less than they received. Perhaps an economic cut back?

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelegoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
900 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#3 of 25 in Carmel
593 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
1.2 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Inn

Address: 7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range: $217 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the forest just across from Carmel's premier shopping plaza, the Wayside Inn reflects the charm of the quintessential Carmel cottage. Offering 22 guest rooms and suites, special amenities may include spa tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and large balconies overlooking the quaint village of Carmel. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning with the daily newspaper and freshly baked cookies are always available in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing