We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and cozy place to stay with all the amenitites”
Review of Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wayside Inn
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
san jose, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cozy place to stay with all the amenitites”
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We have stayed with other hotels in the Inn By The Sea hotels, but we really liked staying at this location. It was so close to the shops and restaurants, just minutes from your door. The hotel had all the amenities. The room was exceptionally spacious and comfortable, and had plenty of room for our son to roam around and play with his toys. The bed and the comfortor was so warm and comfy, we want to get one for our home. The staff members in the hotel lobby were very nice and even though we could make coffee in our room, it was easier to just walk to the lobby and get a hot cup of coffee or hot water for tea. The cookies were yummy!! We will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azulca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    89
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
73
127
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WALNUT CREEK, CA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Entering the suite at the Wayside Inn, I was thinking I was back in Provence -- the French decor eluded to this. The two rooms were large with that certain element of elegance which suited me to the T. Since we were three women traveling together we each had our own beds and 2 spacious bathroom. The kitchenette was where we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and it was large enough for us to sit at the table. The kitchen was stocked with all necessary utilities to cook if we would have wanted to eat all our meals in but we did enjoy several of the restaurants. The location is excellent -- you leave your car at the B & B and walk to almost anywhere you want. All in all it was a most pleasant experience

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWEETROSE39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanover, md
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We found the Wayside Inn during a previoius trip to Carmel, and are sure glad we did. We were taken by the friendly and outgoing staff, as they were very attentive in showing us around the property. It's not a large inn, about 20 rooms I think, but they have a few different room decors and a variety of rooms to choose from. We had a two bedroom suite with a fireplace, full kitchen and king bed. The bedding was excellent quality and the furnishings were that of an upscale cottage, with a marble bathroom and the kitchen with granite countertop. We thought the value was excellent, as we paid $199 per night and felt like we had our own little apartment in Carmel. The location can't be beat, unless it were on the ocean (but sadly, no inns in town are on the beach). We were right downtown one block from the main street, right next to the shopping area and close to several great restaurants. We hardly used our car. We will be heading back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnojsmythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Way overpriced for what you get - an upgraded motel. Bed was good, everything else so-s0. Breakfast is completely inadequate.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jetjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in the lovely, clean and comfortable Wayside Inn. Our room was one of the best we had during our whole California trip. Right in the centre of Carmel and good walking distance to all restaurants and beach. Breakfast delivered to your room is a nice touch. Room had all the facilities we needed including iron, fridge and coffee machine. Only criticism is the breakfast was a little on the light side - my Mom had stayed there previously (2007) and told me the breakfast was amazing, but when we've compared notes it seems the one we got was a lot less than they received. Perhaps an economic cut back?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelegoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

My special lady and I booked a premium suite, complete with a king bed, separate living room with tv and sofa, gas fireplace, patio, little kitchen with sink, mini fridge and microwave, bathroom with shower/tub and most importantly, the 2-person jacuzzi tub. If you can, spring for the jacuzzi tub. It made the night just perfect ;)
The room was clean, well-prepared and huge. Did I say get they jacuzzi tub? Do it!
The location was fantastic- a block away from the oh-so-chic Ocean St. and it was plenty quiet on a summer Saturday night. Front desk staff was totally helpful with restaurant suggestions and the breakfast is left at your door at 8am (no knock to disturb you). If you can get a jacuzzi tub, I suggest you do it.... wait... did I already say that? Anyways, we were very happy with the place and recommend to anyone who wants to stay in downtown Carmel.

Btw.. jacuzzi tub!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dweiss85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We live in the bay area and wanted a quick get-a-away prior to the arrival of our next child. The Wayside Inn provided just what we needed - a comfortable place to stay near the Monterey Bay Aquarium. This trip was a one night stay, with a day at the Aquarium. Our family felt comfortable in the hotel and loved our walk to Carmel's Beach. The beds in the hotel were fantastic! The only think I would change is the heating system. While the room was nice and warm, the wall heater occasionally made some clanking noises during the night as it cooled and heated up again. Updating the heating method would make for a quieter stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
855 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 25 in Carmel
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Inn

Property: Wayside Inn
Address: 7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the forest just across from Carmel's premier shopping plaza, the Wayside Inn reflects the charm of the quintessential Carmel cottage. Offering 22 guest rooms and suites, special amenities may include spa tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and large balconies overlooking the quaint village of Carmel. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning with the daily newspaper and freshly baked cookies are always available in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing