We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wayside Inn
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, easy walking to restaurants and shopping in this charming small village. Our room was huge with a kitchenette area, large sliding door closet, fireplace, and double door balcony. Room was well appointed and it was nice to be in a "designer" room that has its own personality and had not morphed into the minimal contemporary look at most other hotels. It fit the elegance of the city and the style of the hotel. Front desk staff was wonderful and gave us a great recommendation for dinner. Our only regret was that we were staying only one night. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank murphybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, Manager at Wayside Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your guest room. Our location gives our guests the opportunity to have the quintessential “Carmel experience” of strolling by the shops and galleries while still just being a few minutes away from the Inn. It sounds like after one night you still have plenty to explore in our wonderful area, and we hope you will join us for that trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    88
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
72
122
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I were staying at the Hyatt Regency in Monterey and visited Carmel on a trip - we loved it and decided to spend a couple of days in Carmel. The Wayside Inn seemed like a great place so we checked in for two days.

The good stuff:
a. You are a short walk from the town centre, there are lots of great restaurants around and the hotel looks great at night
b. The rooms are huge and well furnished, the beds are very comfortable and the linens are great
c. The receptionist and cleaning staff are helpful and cheerful

But the less good stuff:
a. The in room breakfast is pathetic, a few slices of bread to toast, stale muffins in cling-film, cheap yoghurt and an fruit. I would expect more for the money
b. There was a strange smell in the room, no idea what it was but it something wasn't right

You should be aware that you are staying in an old wooden building which creaks a lot and there is street noise like drilling going on. There is nothing wrong with this, it is an old building and the creaks add character, the street noise is to be expected in any town environment - just be aware.

And finally, with the benefit of hindsight I would have stayed in the Hyatt a few extra nights and driven to Carmel to walk around and eat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a wonderful little Inn to stay in the heart of Carmel, CA. Just 3 blocks and you are in the center of town enjoying all the wonderful shops and restaurants. The Inn is quaint, well managed, accommodating staff and very reasonable. Parking can be difficult, but there are spaces for one car per room. The rooms are large with nice kitchenettes. We stay here every August for the big car shows. The breakfast bags are good, but would like to see them add mini quiches instead of just cereal and fruit. Our room has a balcony and a blue jay visits us every day. The bathrooms are in need of upgrading especially the fixtures and I think some new carpeting is in order, but overall, a very nice place to stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: The premium suites have two large rooms with a fireplace and are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We just spent two nights at the Wayside. We had a Deluxe King Suite. It was 2 completely separate rooms, bedroom and living room. This was great as we keep different hours sometimes. The mattress was awesome. The "Kitchenette" was just a big cabinet with a mini-fridge, toaster, coffee maker and cups. It was odd in that the toilet and shower did not have their own private area. To go from the living space to the bedroom or vice versa you need to go past the exposed toilet area. If you share this room with someone you better be cool with seeing them on the can, or having to lock the door from where they are while using it. Sadly the first night we had some noisy rude neighbors, and not just one set. The second night was better. The housekeepers were kind of noisy, and I am not sure why the "DO NOT DISTURB" card in the lock means it is OK to knock on our door before checkout time? The location is great and not completely in the center of things, but right on the edge. The office staff was friendly and efficient, and the very basic breakfast is a nice touch. There are 7 parking spots for 28 rooms BTW so you may be parking on the street. Good stay but not perfect.

Room Tip: #8 has completely separate bedroom and living space, and is upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Shorties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to spend our two year anniversary on vacation, but couldn't pick a place until the last minute, leaving us with few choices on where to stay. We settled on Carmel, and thankfully, the Wayside Inn had an available room for us. We called and booked a two night stay in the premium king suite in the French building, with a private balcony, fireplace and a Jacuzzi tub.

The room was on the second floor, very spacious, and included a large bed, two bathrobes, a tv, couch, Jacuzzi tub for two, gas fireplace, keurig coffee maker with tea and coffee, mini fridge with waters, microwave, and an outdoor private balcony. The bed, comforter, and pillows were to die for. We never wanted to get out of bed.

Each day there is tea, coffee, hot cocoa, cookies, and fruit in the lobby area. Also, you are given a breakfast menu with a choice of cheerios, raisin bran, rice krispies, fruit, yogurt, pastries, toast, milk, and orange juice to place outside of your door at night. When you wake up in the morning, your order will be waiting (:

Although our stay here was great, there were a few things that were a little bothersome:
1. The jets that create the jacuzzi effect in the tub for two were SO LOUD. As soon as we turned the bubbles on, we looked at each other in horror and turned them right back off, afraid that we had broken something or awoken the entire hotel. Unfortunately, that was the first and last time we used those.
2. Not the hotel's fault, but our neighbors were even louder than the jacuzzi. The ones downstairs apparently preferred their....romantic activities...loud, while the women in the room next to us talked so loud that it sounded like they were in our room. Once again, this is not at all the hotel's fault. It just made things a little less private.
3. The private balcony was a nice touch, but anyone walking on the street below could see/hear us, so we didn't spend much time out there, although it was nice to let a breeze in on the warmer days.
4. The heater in the room was placed at the bottom of the floor behind some curtains, so it was a little difficult to keep the room warm since the heat wasn't spreading easily.
5. Although the FAQ sheet said there were instructions for the fireplace...there weren't. They just left us a lighter and some wood, so we attempted to light it for 15 minutes until we realized it was probably a gas fireplace. We had to call and ask where the switch was and how to use it. The gas switch was behind a curtain on the wall. Not a big deal, but we felt pretty dumb afterwards.

If you're looking for a nice room, with fairly good amenities, AMAZING location, and a fair price, look no further.
If you're looking for an extremely personal bed & breakfast with hand and foot service and complete privacy, you may want to look just a little more.

Overall pretty good experience and right within walking distance to the beach and shops and tons of food. Would recommend it (:

Room Tip: French premium king sweet was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a 2 night stay here in September and we are so glad we chose Wayside Inn. We felt the position was just right being off the main road which made it quiet yet close to everything we needed. The room was very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. I emailed a couple of days before we arrived to request a ground floor room and this was arranged. The staff were all very pleasant and everything was clean. We did not know what to expect for breakfast but the little hamper bags were lovely although a bit more variety of cereal would have been nice and a plate in the bag would be a good idea. Overall we all felt this was a lovely place to stay and would definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeandDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

we had a huge room with 2 king beds, it was very clean, perfectly quiet, breakfast was unique delivered to your door in the morning in cool bags and good quality, everything was in walking distance (though Carmel is small and everywhere is walkable from anywhere i'd say)
front desk were friendly, coffee and fruit and fresh cooked biscuits in reception all day was nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Inn

Property: Wayside Inn
Address: 7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the forest just across from Carmel's premier shopping plaza, the Wayside Inn reflects the charm of the quintessential Carmel cottage. Offering 22 guest rooms and suites, special amenities may include spa tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and large balconies overlooking the quaint village of Carmel. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning with the daily newspaper and freshly baked cookies are always available in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing