We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pearl by the sea”
Review of Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wayside Inn
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Solna, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pearl by the sea”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A very nice little place to stay. Stay here when you're driving the PCH. However the parking was smaller than I thought so we had to park in the street. A nice neighbourhood so I wasn't worried about the car, but we had to walk a distance with our luggage. So be early if possible:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    90
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
75
127
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was there for one night for business, and my visit could not have been more pleasant. My room was lovely with a terrace and fireplace. The bed was supremely comfortable. The room and bathroom were spacious and the overall decor was lovely. The front desk, Stephanie was helpful ad very accommodating. A lovely cold breakfast I delivered to your room. I have nothing bad to say!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aretha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was just fabulous. The hotel was so cute. We receive the breakfast in the morning and we order the day before. The restrooms are not fabulous but it's okay for one or 2 nights. NO SWIMMING POOL. NO FITNESS CENTER

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We always stay at the Wayside. The service is impeccable, the location superb, and it's very nice to be able to leave the car parked, and walk about town. Close to Katies for breakfast, one block off Ocean. Freshly baked cookies and coffee in the lobby is a welcome sight when you check in. Breakfasts are a wonderful touch. Staff is uniformly well-informed about events/restaurants, and wonderfully friendly.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the back, that open onto the parking lot. Nice balonies to sit outside and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ USA
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I arrived in Carmel without a reservation and happened upon the Wayside Inn. It was so quaint. The front desk staff person was so friendly and helpful. I room was very nice with a fireplace. Loved the location within walking distance to shops, restaurants and beach. The breakfast basket was awesome! Would definitely stay again if they accepted small pets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishmiss09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nice small hotel with great location. Really enjoyed breakfast delivery to room. Room very clean, wonderful beds and robes. Front desk staff could have been a little friendlier.will return.The gardens are really pretty and you are walking distance to restaurants,shops,centre of town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gisele600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights here, arriving after a long drive from Yosemite. We found the staff all very friendly and we were given an upstairs room with a balcony, two beds, nice bathroom and a fridge. Exactly what we needed. The best part was the location, it is right where you want to be in Carmel, next to all the boutique shopping, galleries and restaurants and a short pleasant walk down hill to the beach. We would certainly stay here again. When we checked out we still had three hours to kill and when I asked about parking at the beach I was told it would be fine to leave the car in the inn car park until later. A nice friendly gesture that made a very good impression.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
859 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
1,661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Inn

Property: Wayside Inn
Address: 7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the forest just across from Carmel's premier shopping plaza, the Wayside Inn reflects the charm of the quintessential Carmel cottage. Offering 22 guest rooms and suites, special amenities may include spa tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and large balconies overlooking the quaint village of Carmel. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning with the daily newspaper and freshly baked cookies are always available in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing