We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Location, Location, Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wayside Inn
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We returned to the Wayside for the second time for a four day visit of Carmel. We once again enjoyed our stay completely. You can ignore the few negative comments here. The furnishings are top of the line. The decor pleasing. Everything is spotless and well maintained. We loved the soft bed with fine sheets. The pillows were a bit big, so next time I will bring my own. But, really this is a delightful bed.

We asked for a room with a kitchen based on comments here. But, when we arrive to our up stairs room, we noticed that when the window was open, we heard the air conditioner of the building next door. My wife likes it quiet. The room was elegant, with a kitchen, living area with fireplace and separate bedroom. But, we asked for a quieter room.

The attentive reception woman immediately tried to help find us another room. We chose a lover level room with french doors opening to a small patio with metal table and chairs with flowers in bloom everywhere. We loved this room. With the shades pulled it was completely dark. And very quiet and comfy. We heard kids running occasionally upstairs, but really not a bother at night at all.

We didn't miss the kitchen, since there is a single cup coffee maker -- always stocked with coffee and toaster. Hey, we came to Carmel to enjoy the fine places to eat.

Some comment here that they didn't like the cold breakfast provided on request. That is silly. The Wayside gives you a choice of items and we choose fruit and yogurt for an afternoon and evening snack, since we found wonderful places for breakfast a few blocks away.

The best part of the Wayside is the location. You are just a few steps away from all that Carmel has to offer, restaurants, art galleries, and the beach. To be totally relaxed we reserved two days without driving our rental car and focused on long walks, afternoon naps and figuring out our biggest problem -- where to eat.

Lunch at Casanovas and dinner and breakfast at Le Bicycle produced a "have we every had anything better?: reaction. No kidding, some of the best food we have enjoyed.

One day we drove ten minutes to the Point Lobos State Park for a day hike and some of the most beautiful scenery anywhere.

The first two days were warm, the last two days were windy and cold, so bring warm clothes. In any weather, Carmel's Wayside should be your destination.

Room Tip: Lower level with patio means you won't have to climb stairs. Upstairs room with balcony means be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garjog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    80
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
67
108
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pleasant hill,ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

we stayed 3 nights,celebrating our 30th anniversary. it was a great choice for us; very large room with nice extras like dining table, refrig, microwave. so convienient to shops and restaurant. a good value with the "inns by the sea" special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kakysly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

There are only positive things to say about Wayside Inn. We loved our stay. The view from our balcony was lovely. We enjoyed the fireplace in our room along with the great furnishings. The Wayside Inn is located near many restaurants mad the walk to the beach is not difficult.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbitaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
Level Contributor
361 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our room was huge, and included a couch and matching chair , a desk, a separate jacuzzi area, a fireplace, a balcony, a comfortable king bed, a bathroom with basin and nice shower, and a well-equipped "kitchenette" area with microwave and fridge, and a second basin. The room was very clean, on the upper level, accessed via steps.
A basic continental breakfast is delivered to your door in the morning in an insulated bag, with your choice of items made from a listing that you leave outside in the evening.
there are 8 fewer parking spots than rooms , so the Inn has arranged for free parking at the end of the block in a municipal parking lot. This means that some will have to unload first, then move their car, and the reverse in departing.
location is very convenient for accessing downtown Carmel.
front desk was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southern quadrangle had better, easier parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nepenthium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

A bit pricey but, location, room, breakfast, staff. All perfect. Walk out to the stores and short walk to the beach. The room was beautiful, and buatifully kept. It is near everything, but on the side so it is in a quiet spot. Breakfast in the room is a fantastic idea and quality was very good. Will definitively go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Cuori1Capanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've stayed at the Wayside Inn twice now, this last time over Thanksgiving 2012. The location is perfect, quiet yet walking distance to everything in Carmel. The beds are fabulous and the rooms with Living Room and fireplace really make it feel like a home away from home. Bathrooms are small, but updated with marble, etc. Charming curb appeal with flower boxes, etc. Property has parking which is a big plus in Carmel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Bilancia2012 has it spot on -- the positives are its location and room size; negatives are dated décor and no view. The boxed breakfast thing is a feature of several of the Inns By The Sea (e.g. Svendsgaard) but at least at this place you can easily opt out of the breakfast, which we did.

Also, the beds all have feather mattress-top covers. My wife finds these uncomfortable to sleep on; we requested they remove it but the message got mixed up with housekeeping and they removed the feather quilt instead.

Even with all that, if you stay at any of the Inns By The Sea once, they'll send you special off-season rate deals which definitely increase the value of the location and diminish the other negatives.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jank360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Inn

Property: Wayside Inn
Address: 7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the forest just across from Carmel's premier shopping plaza, the Wayside Inn reflects the charm of the quintessential Carmel cottage. Offering 22 guest rooms and suites, special amenities may include spa tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and large balconies overlooking the quaint village of Carmel. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning with the daily newspaper and freshly baked cookies are always available in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing