We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well located and very nice place”
Review of Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wayside Inn
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
1 review
“A well located and very nice place”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

There are only positive things to say about Wayside Inn. We loved our stay. The view from our balcony was lovely. We enjoyed the fireplace in our room along with the great furnishings. The Wayside Inn is located near many restaurants mad the walk to the beach is not difficult.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbitaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    90
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
75
127
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tiburon, CA
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our room was huge, and included a couch and matching chair , a desk, a separate jacuzzi area, a fireplace, a balcony, a comfortable king bed, a bathroom with basin and nice shower, and a well-equipped "kitchenette" area with microwave and fridge, and a second basin. The room was very clean, on the upper level, accessed via steps.
A basic continental breakfast is delivered to your door in the morning in an insulated bag, with your choice of items made from a listing that you leave outside in the evening.
there are 8 fewer parking spots than rooms , so the Inn has arranged for free parking at the end of the block in a municipal parking lot. This means that some will have to unload first, then move their car, and the reverse in departing.
location is very convenient for accessing downtown Carmel.
front desk was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southern quadrangle had better, easier parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nepenthium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

A bit pricey but, location, room, breakfast, staff. All perfect. Walk out to the stores and short walk to the beach. The room was beautiful, and buatifully kept. It is near everything, but on the side so it is in a quiet spot. Breakfast in the room is a fantastic idea and quality was very good. Will definitively go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Cuori1Capanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've stayed at the Wayside Inn twice now, this last time over Thanksgiving 2012. The location is perfect, quiet yet walking distance to everything in Carmel. The beds are fabulous and the rooms with Living Room and fireplace really make it feel like a home away from home. Bathrooms are small, but updated with marble, etc. Charming curb appeal with flower boxes, etc. Property has parking which is a big plus in Carmel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Bilancia2012 has it spot on -- the positives are its location and room size; negatives are dated décor and no view. The boxed breakfast thing is a feature of several of the Inns By The Sea (e.g. Svendsgaard) but at least at this place you can easily opt out of the breakfast, which we did.

Also, the beds all have feather mattress-top covers. My wife finds these uncomfortable to sleep on; we requested they remove it but the message got mixed up with housekeeping and they removed the feather quilt instead.

Even with all that, if you stay at any of the Inns By The Sea once, they'll send you special off-season rate deals which definitely increase the value of the location and diminish the other negatives.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jank360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Positives: hotel has a center of town location with parking and a good staff.

Negatives: breakfast in a box consisting of a cartoon of milk, plastic cereal box and a fruit.
No view
Dated decor
Next time we will look for another place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bilancia2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed 5 days over Thanksgiving holiday. Our room had a separate bedroom, living room & kitchen. Each rooms were not big but cozy. Bathroom was small but clean and updated, also has jet bath. Beds were very comfortable. Location was perfect. There are many great restaurants steps away. Very convenience location. I liked the morning breakfast delivery, simple but enough. We really enjoyed staying this inn.

PS. It's true you can hear noise upstairs but most old inn and b&b, they have same issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
860 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
1,661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Inn

Property: Wayside Inn
Address: 7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the forest just across from Carmel's premier shopping plaza, the Wayside Inn reflects the charm of the quintessential Carmel cottage. Offering 22 guest rooms and suites, special amenities may include spa tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and large balconies overlooking the quaint village of Carmel. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning with the daily newspaper and freshly baked cookies are always available in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing