We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to enjoy the charms of Carmel”
Review of Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wayside Inn
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good base to enjoy the charms of Carmel”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We had a large room at the Wayside inn with 2 queen beds in one room and a king in the other. The room was decorated in blue and white French toile fabrics. We had 2 bathrooms and a kitchen. Kids loved the cookies freshly baked each afternoon. Breakfast basket was very simple- OJ carton, piece of fruit, cereal and a scone or bagel.Easy walk to shops and restaurants and about 15 minutes to the beach. Make sure you eat at Dametra Cafe.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    89
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
73
127
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We loved it here, the staff was extremely attentive and helpful and the room we had was just beautiful! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed for 1 night, great location. Breakfast very basic, orange juice, cereal, pastry & apple or orange. Cookies at reception delicious. Try Tommy's Wok down the road, great food at a great price!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We loved the coffee maker in the room! It was an upgrade than any in-room coffee maker I've ever seen. Very nice touch! The continental breakfast door service was just wonderful! i wasn't sure exactly what time to expect it and it was such a nice surprise opening the door and seeing the cooler waiting for us. When we checked in the cookies in the lobby were a nice welcome after a long drive and the hotel room was just gorgeous.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Our family spent three nights at the Wayside Inn, and absolutely loved our time there! We even extended our stay an extra night - we really enjoyed ourselves. The suite was perfect for us - we have a 3 yr old and a 7 month old, and there was enough space for all of us. The layout of the suite was especially good for our naptime requirements for the kids. The staff is extremely helpful. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room #10 was perfect for us. The 7 month old could nap peacefully, while the the rest of us spent t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laweber28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We had a great time. We have stayed in a lot of places in Carmel and this is our new favorite! We will definitely be back. Love the hot cookies in the lobby. Great touch!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdober2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Very clean, great location, wonderful bed. I was a little skeptical after reading some reviews of some unhappy customers of the Wayside but we were nothing but pleased with the inn. The breakfast wasn't wonderful and perhaps a voucher for breakfast somewhere else would be a nice idea but overall, we were happy. Yes, the room was pricey but it's Carmel, what do you expect? The room was very clean. Stay here, you will be happy. Just remember, some people are very never happy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WIUmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
855 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 25 in Carmel
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Inn

Property: Wayside Inn
Address: 7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the forest just across from Carmel's premier shopping plaza, the Wayside Inn reflects the charm of the quintessential Carmel cottage. Offering 22 guest rooms and suites, special amenities may include spa tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and large balconies overlooking the quaint village of Carmel. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning with the daily newspaper and freshly baked cookies are always available in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing