We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (993)
Filter reviews
993 results
Traveler rating
603
236
96
33
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
603
236
96
33
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne breakfast cookies and milk free shuttle evening wine tasting shuttle service waffle station no elevator beautiful hotel ocean view garden room two blocks breakfast was amazing beautiful grounds the hotel offers luxury hotel rooms are small turn down service
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 993 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Charming old hotel with lots of character. Great bar and breakfast lounge and balcony. Horrible reception to hotel as no hotel parking near check in, no valet, no baggage assistance and no apologies from hotel staff. There are a few spots for unloading however they seemed to be occupied by select guests that felt entitled to stay and use it as a permanent parking spot with no monitoring or movement by hotel reception. The bar and staff were wonderful. The breakfast delicious and full service though short of seating for guests so a long wait to sit down. The bathrooms were subpar being ridiculously tiny and dated. In room coffe only had powdered creamer. No room service or restaurant on site so will need to walk up hill to restaurants and coffee shops. There is a $100 resort fee though not sure what that could be for as the pool is dated and tiny and not much else to consider a “resort”. All in all not worth the $1,000 / night price tag considering the lack of luxury accommodations.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank birch6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at La Playa Carmel for 3 nights. Keeping this short, the pros and cons are:

Pros:
* Buffet breakfast (delicious made to order omelettes with all the fillings you could want, and made to order waffles with all the toppings you could want) +++
* Staff (especially the front desk) are very helpful and friendly, advising on places to eat to road closures +++
* Clean, quiet and comfortable room ++
* Good location +
* Beautiful hotel in terms of grounds and interior
* Cookies in the evening, and ice tea and lemonade in the afternoons.

Cons:
* The WiFi is super flakey, which is a shame as it lets the hotel's score down! Had to ask the staff to reboot the connection several times - though no fault of their own to be fair. --
* Parking lot is small, but roadside parking is available in the area, so not a huge problem to be fair

Overall, very comfy. I'd stay here again.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RoundCat_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

This is a very unusual place with no street numbers, pavements or street lamps so would be hard to find if you arrived at night! Ladies need a high heel permit to wear heels out in town (really) but thanks to Clint Eastwood's spell as mayor you can now safely eat ice cream in the street without being arrested! Great free shuttle into town which was lovely and full of interesting boutique shops, loved the art gallery and cowboy one particularly. The man doing the wine tasting didn't seem very comfortable talking to people and was keen to pack away dead in time! Easy walk to the beautiful beach. Thank you for the lovely bottle of wine for our special anniversary. Room was small. Breakfast buffet was an interesting mix but the fresh cooked to order omelette or waffles were good. As a fruit tea drinker the orange spice tea was highly perfumed.., a bit like licking one of those Christmas dried orange and cinnamon decorations, I imagine anyway. Pool looked pretty but didn't try it as was a bit drizzly.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_Adventure09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

The good: A wonderful, quiet and idyllic spot to have a drink and delicious small bites. The bad: Very short on bar staff but when you do have someone help you, they are delightful. Do not be in a hurry - with only one person on duty it takes quite a while to be served. The food is EXCELLENT with lots of great choices and very fair prices. A locals favorite.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Viajera59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Our overall impression was of not being valued, and of the hotel being "cheap" in its attitude.
We were there for our anniversary and this was a special splurge. I also have just had surgery and we needed a king-size bed. When we made the reservation, I couldn't be guaranteed a king unless I got the more expensive "pool cabana" room (which felt manipulative). This was more money than we have ever spent to stay at a hotel.
The cabana was not as special as I had anticipated - it was a very nice room, no question, but noisy (by the pool, and by a very noisy exit gate, also right above some sort of carpentry shed - altogether there was almost always some annoying noise).
Mostly there was a sense of poor communication among the staff, and of things being done more cheaply than warranted. There was wine tasting, without any cheese or crackers. When our bed was turned down, they left one chocolate (and we recognize the brand - it's a 15 cent chocolate) even though there were two of us. When we checked in, no one mentioned that the champagne breakfast was included with our amenity fees so we completely missed it both days we were there (I've never been to a hotel where they don't tell you at check in what the breakfast is, if it's included).
We did complain while there (the one chocolate seemed the final straw) and they DID make amends, sending us a bottle of champagne. But noone then ever followed up or remembered that we'd had an issue (that's where the poor communication seemed evident). We also made a couple of basic requests at the front desk and they were misunderstood, someone came to our room and interrupted when not wanted, as a misunderstanding of that request...It's too bad because the location is great and the grounds beautiful, but we didn't feel special and the price was really high.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the pool cabana - the noise outweighs the idea of privacy and specialness
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose-Ranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel T, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Dear Rose-Ranch:

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your concerns about your recent stay. I am embarrassed that we were unable to meet your expectations during your anniversary trip.

Rose-Ranch, I would also like to apologize for the frustration you encountered when reserving the room. Our hotel rooms vary in size and some are unable to accommodate a king size bed comfortably. In order to guarantee a room with a king size bed we recommend that guests reserve a Garden Room or a Pool Casita. I will say that when reviewing reservations, we do our best to accommodate any requests made.

La Playa Carmel was once the home of Angela Ghiradelli, daughter of the famous chocolatier. As our way of honoring the history of our hotel we place Ghiradelli chocolates in the guest room at turndown and offer Ghiradelli chocolate chip cookies in the evening.

Rose-Ranch, I have reached out to you in hopes of personally addressing your concerns.

Warmest Regards,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews