We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Playa Carmel
Nearby Hotels
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$159
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
$150
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$144
$135
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$520
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$199
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$379
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$605
$225
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (954)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveler rating
587
223
90
31
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
223
90
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne breakfastcookies and milkfree shuttleevening wine tastingshuttle servicewaffle stationno elevatorgarden roomhotel barbeautiful hotelocean viewtwo blocksbreakfast was amazingbeautiful groundsthe hotel offersluxury hotelcommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
639 - 644 of 954 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Two night stay in Carmel after a destination wedding in Big Sur. This is a terrific boutique hotel with an attentive staff, convenient walk to town, included mimosa,full breakfast, free shuttle to suggested restaurants and sites. Garden rooms are delightful and it's a short walk to the ocean. THIS IS A WONDERFUL CHOICE .

Room Tip: Be sure to attend their nightly wine tasting
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at La Playa and couldn't have been happier with our experience. The staff was 150% in tune with our needs. Every detail was looked after, from a change in room to overlook the gardens, to a quick trip to town a few minutes before dinner to exchange a dress shirt my husband had bought for dinner that turned out to have a stain. I will definitely stay again, and you shouldn't hesitate to stay at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear Kathy,

Thank you for your kind words. Knowing that we have provided a great service experience is what makes our job a joy. I am so happy to know that you will be returning to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The bed, breakfast and decor were excellent. The staff A +. Walking distance to Carmel centre. We would definitely go back for a few more nights next time. Free wine tasting- a welcoming lounge - free shuttle to the town are all little touches which make this an excellent hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank amcee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

For rest, relaxation, superb service and beautiful surroundings there is nothing better in Carmel. Casual yet elegant. Flowers abound in the garden and throughout hotel. Personalized service. Located in heart of Carmel by the Sea, just 200 yards from the ocean, on a quiet residential street, but just a four-minute walk from the famous and charming Carmel shopping district. Privacy for relaxing, proximity for shopping and dining. And no better place to get a healthy or hearty breakfast in all of Carmel.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of the ocean, but all views are great.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

we stayed here for 3 nights on our road trip down the Pacific Highway, and it was a Secret Escapes deal. Easy parking right outside as it's in a residential location. Gardens at the rear well maintained and smelled beautiful!! Small pool with loungers, towels and parasols. Beautiful beach only 5 minutes walk away, and very close to the Carmel entrance to the 17 mile drive. Pebble Beach golf course was very close by, visible from the beach. Sparkling wine (they called it champagne) given out liberally from reception, including on check in. Daily cookies and milk at reception in the evening. Free shuttle into town on request after 5pm which was handy for drops offs and tips on local places to eat. Concierge was very helpful and arranged meal reservations. Breakfast was self service with option to eat inside or out, and omelette/waffle chef made fresh to your order. Room was fair size, ours was on the residential side of the hotel... Others enjoyed their own patios onto the garden or pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews