We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Playa Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Playa Carmel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
377 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A Gem in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

My husband and I were celebrating a special birthday of mine and decided that La Playa Carmel is where we wanted to stay. Sherrell Aledo worked with my husband and provided Room 201 for our time in Carmel. A gorgeous room with a view of the ocean, property and pool was facilitated by Mary Crowe, general manager who had wine and cupcakes in our room to celebrate my birthday. Ralph the bellman made sure we were comfortable wherever we were in the hotel. Tony, our shuttle driver took us to Hog's Breath with pleasant conversation about the area. Each evening we enjoyed the complimentary wine tasting and Tracy Hunter, senior sales manager at La Playa Carmel made it an enjoyable experience. Can't wait to come back to this amazing boutique hotel, truly a gem in Carmel!!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for room 201. Amazing views and very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Shayne,
We are so happy to know that your birthday celebration at La Playa was memorable. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    194
    78
    26
    19
See reviews for
142
505
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

From the moment we approached the entrance of the hotel we were greeted with a welcoming smile and genuine hospitality that continued throughout our stay. Each member of the staff was pleasant, helpful and accommodating. Our room had a view of the ocean I don't think you could find at any other hotel in Carmel. It was comfortable and well appointed. Checking out bikes was easy and a great way to see the village and 17-mile drive. The proximity of the hotel to the beach and downtown is perfect. Last but not least, the breakfast in the morning was excellent. I'd go back just for the breakfast but there are so many other equally compelling reasons to stay at La Playa Carmel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Feedback such as yours is what makes our jobs a joy. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

the location is great. the room was very nice and clean. the gardens were beautiful and breakfast cannot be missed. the staff was very accommodating and friendly. I highly recommend renting bikes from the hotel and taking a ride down by the beach. so nice. it is a short walk to many great restaurants.

Room Tip: I really liked our garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlowe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel is the epitome of a quaint hotel, almost like a B and B. we stayed in a corner room that was encompassed with plantation shutters at the window. The windows we were able to open revealed a lively atmosphere at the afternoon happy hour. People were talking loudly but it just added more charm to the place. Everyone at the front desk were so friendly and even offered cookies and other delicious treats. The only knock was the bathroom was very small but it wasn't a deal breaker. The breakfast they serve, complimentary, was a unique blen of breakfast items you would usually see with some European flavor.

Room Tip: A romantic getaway hotel close to the shopping area and within walking distance to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letsgo410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Great location to walk, bike, drive from ... explore the town on foot, walk the Carmel beach and see some whales also surfers, dog walkers and Pebble Beach landscape ... take the 17 mile drive $10 .. reimbursed if u have a meal inside. Also, La Playa's breakfast is the best and evening wine tasting!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The grounds are so gorgeous and the breakfast was excellent. I very much enjoyed having breakfast each morning on the balcony overlooking the gardens with an ocean view. The balcony was also excellent to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. The location is fabulous (walking distance from beach) and the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Go with a room with a view of the grounds, pool, or ocean room. Don't go with the cheapest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This very picky traveler loved LaPlaya. Yes, the bathrooms are small but we are used to that staying in boutique hotels in NYC; in fact, the idiosyncrasies of the LaPlaya are parr for the course when choosing hotels that have character apart from the big chains. The picketers were in front of the hotel loading area when we arrived but we called the desk and staff met us around back to bring up our bags and the protest was over by 6:00 or so (that was on a Thursday and they didn't return again during our stay).

Entire staff was great - the concierge called the week before our scheduled arrival to ask if there were any reservations or other arrangements they could handle for us and responded quickly to subsequent emails.

Great daily brunch overlooking the beautiful gardens and ocean two blocks away. Thinking about our next visit already (and we live in Florida so it's a trip).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BunnyLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Bunny,

I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of any assistance in arranging your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Property: La Playa Carmel
Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#2 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Playa Carmel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing