We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, fantastic breakfast”
Review of La Playa Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Playa Carmel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Nice room, fantastic breakfast”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We check in to the hotel when there were old employees protesting the hotel in front of the hotel. The employees were very friendly and accommodating when the protesters were outside. A very nice young man helped me with my baggage bring it up the two flight of stairs to the 4th floor where our room was. We had a nice small room with a couple of small chairs near the window for relaxing. We had a view of the pool and ocean. The complimentary champaign breakfast was the best! It was excellent and the service was impeccable. Thank you to all playa de carmel staff that made the breakfast such a terrific experience!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    196
    78
    26
    19
See reviews for
143
513
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

All of the excellent reviews are spot-on correct, a terrific boutique-like, European-like place to stay in Carmel; we would definitely return and recommend to others. Located in a cozy and very quiet neighborhood just two blocks from the ocean

Room Tip: We stayed in the block of rooms by the pool, like having your own cabana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Everything was as you want it for a vacation. The room and gardens and ocean a block away. A great concierge and the best location walking distance to beach,shops, and restaurants. The staff is unbelievably friendly and helpful The complimentary breakfast(and this is not an exaggeration) is the best I have ever had and I have eaten in most Michelin starred restaurants.The best croissants, fruit, prosciutto, cheeses, omelets and I could go on.A van which drives you where you want to go in town and picks you up. There are only smiling faces here. This place has it all. My wife and I cant wait to return.Oh by the way it is very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: we had a garden view 111 with an outdoor patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richandjuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placida, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A beautiful, small inn, reasonably priced - amazing for Carmel! Breakfast was lovely - very European and you can eat on the deck overlooking the ocean. The staff was incredibly accommodating, love the shuttle service to restaurants. A short, beautiful walk through quaint Carmel neighborhoods to beach and town. No elevator unless you stay on the lobby floor which I would suggest, if you can. Beautiful grounds, nice, heated pool. Looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiteeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a beautiful place. 2 blocks to a gorgeous beach with views of Pebble Beach and a very easy walk into town. The staff is amazing and help make our stay very enjoyable. We would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGZ0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the la Playa Carmel. The decor and gardens are beautiful. The breakfast was first class and the bar snack food was the best meal we had in Carmel. The staff was extra friendly and check in and check out very rapid. No elevator but we still loved our stay. Stay in an ocean view room to get the most beauty. The location is near the beach and the main city center. Great hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasTXMiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The hotel was very clean, the morning breakfast food was prepared fresh and service was excellent,the neighborhood was very nice, short walk to beach and town but did have a shuttle for those who rather not walk.The charm of the hotel made us not want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmeprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about La Playa. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. La Playa has a long standing tradition and history of romance. For over a hundred years, La Playa has welcomed couples celebrating honeymoons and anniversaries. We are delighted to know that you too enjoyed a romantic celebration with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Property: La Playa Carmel
Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#2 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Playa Carmel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing