We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Playa Carmel
Nearby Hotels
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $460/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$189
$169
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$355
$249
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $304/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$600
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$710
$629
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (959)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveler rating
588
226
91
31
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
588
226
91
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne breakfastcookies and milkfree shuttleevening wine tastingshuttle servicewaffle stationno elevatorocean viewgarden roombeautiful hotelhotel bartwo blocksbeautiful groundsbreakfast was amazingthe hotel offersluxury hotelcommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
748 - 753 of 959 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

recently stayed at the La Playa ( our first visit since the renovation) .. hotel looks great ... the pool and garden areas are as beautiful as ever .... the entire staff that we encountered was energetic & personable .... a great new feature (besides the renovated rooms) is the breakfast on the terrace which is included in the room rate .... nice variety and well presented buffet style ... the hotel also offers complimentary van service in the evening to the restaurants in the area .... a great location within walking distance of the beach & Ocean Ave ....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Alex at the front desk is wonderful. After an eventful day was warmly greeted and welcomed to the hotel. Beautiful historic building with cheerful decor and lovely gardens. Excellent location - a short walk to the beach and a short walk to town. A variety of activities available including bike riding, wine tasting and a pool! A lovely, convenient and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at La Playa on our way from San Francisco to LA and my only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. La Playa exceeded my expectations in every way and overall is a very good value. Its located perfectly two short blocks from the ocean and two short blocks from the center of town - in a very pedestrian area. It was very worthwhile to splurge for the ocean view room. The rooms while small were extremely comfortable and clean with wonderful bedding and I loved the windows that could be opened to hear the ocean and have the fresh air. The grounds are magnificent and so well kept. The breakfast that was included was fantastic and we ate on a patio overlooking the pool - which we would have loved to have used. It was kept very warm and was very inviting. Honestly the best night of sleep that I've had in a long time. Next time, we will stay longer at La Playa!

Room Tip: splurge for an ocean view room
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plushblush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was a wonderful place to celebrate my sweetie’s birthday. She loves Carmel-by-the-Sea and has wanted to visit La Playa for a long time. We had eaten here a couple of times and had toured the rooms but had never stayed, so I made reservations. It really is a beautiful property. We had a garden view room high enough that we also had a view of the ocean. The room was a bit cramped, which was not a surprise considering the historical nature of the place. With anyone sitting in one of the two armchairs at the foot of the bed, the other could not pass, and we had to play a bit of musical chairs during our stay. Otherwise, the room was bright and clean, and the bathroom was quite nice. Like most Carmel hotels there is no air conditioning, but we had a nice breeze with the windows open. The breakfast was very good, and the bar food was fine, but we did miss the restaurant. The walk to the downtown area is only a couple of blocks, so eating out is no trouble, and there is a complimentary shuttle if needed. The hotel is located in a quiet residential area, and other than a few of those noisy wheeled suitcases on the brick walkways, we enjoyed the sound of the ocean from two blocks away, All the staff was friendly and efficient, and we would not hesitate to come back.

Room Tip: We always prefer upper floors (no elevators here but the bellman carry everything), and the garden or ocean views are the best.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Imawino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent two nights and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is a couple of blocks from the ocean and about 4 blocks to the shopping area. The evening wine tasting was fun. We paid extra for the ocean view, which was very pretty. The wait staff was very helpful. You should be aware that there are no elevators, and they really don't have dinner service, although with the restaurants to choose from nearby, I can't blame them. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the ocean.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews