We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One Night in Carmel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Playa Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Playa Carmel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One Night in Carmel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

First time we stayed at La Playa Hotel. Nice older building recently redone. Surprised at NO parking at the hotel, door man said just park anywhere on the street, in fairness we found a spot fairly quickly.

Could not believe in the morning that they only had decafe coffee. I asked the waitress and she said they ordered to late. Went to the front desk who knew nothing about the decafe only, I told them they could go Nelson Brothers Deli nearby and buy 10lbs for the morning. Went back a bit later and they had my coffee.

Hotel was nice but overall service was not as we expected.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sleepercarChicago_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    183
    76
    24
    19
See reviews for
134
480
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merced, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I must say I was really looking forward to staying at this hotel. As it turns out, it was a major disappointment. The ambience of the grounds and lobby are lovely. However, the garden room was not. Let me begin by saying that the rate was $385/nt. We were kept up for a few hours with children running down a hallway somewhere. We were not sure where, it shouldn't have been in the "library" above us at that hour, but the rooms are angled and we weren't sure where it was coming from. In addition, the bathroom light was on a motion sensor. Every time I turned over in bed, the light would go on. Finally, the temperature got very warm. The thermostat did not work in our room. All of this for a room at that rate is unacceptable.

Room Tip: Do not go with a garden-view room 105-109 were not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank hobbstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Although comfortable enough, I certainly wouldn't call this a boutique hotel. It's a fairly run of the mill upmarket seaside hotel without any unique quirks. Stayed for 3 nights recently and quite enjoyed my time there, though I would probably choose another option next time around.

We stayed in a standard room which was fine but very small. There was no mini-bar and lacked some of the regular features one would expect to find at hotels that charges mid-high end rates. The bed was quite comfortable though.

Breakfast was disappointed and it got very (too) busy on the weekend mornings.

That said, the hotel has a relaxed atmosphere and the lobby, reception and garden etc are lovely. Also liked the free wifi.

The staff was very friendly though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank enixmatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Karen and I were married in the La Playa patio Garden Gazebo area 22 years ago and the setting is still perfect for weddings. The spacious patio area is beautifully landscaped and can be viewed by several charming guest rooms. All rooms are appointed very nicely with modern upgrades and located either on the garden level as well as from upper level floors. The upper rooms have views of the Pacific Ocean and the Hotel is within walking distance of the World Class Carmel Beach. The quaint Carmel downtown area is only a few blocks away and the hotel management offers shuttle service to and from downtown. The Bar area is old world charming and comfortable, service is great. The bar menu offers various appetizers and small bites. Complimentary breakfast is available as well as "Bud's" Happy Hour. We just spent our 22nd Anniversary there and stayed in room 116 which is one of the wonderful rooms located within the fenced heated swimming pool area. The pool rooms are spacious and lovely with gas fired fireplaces. Checking in and out is a breeze, staff members and all services are professionally overseen by General Manager Mary Crowe. You will enjoy your stay, The La Playa is great!

Room Tip: Let the Bellman or one of the staff know what you prefer and they will usually offer a room that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxC93940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta, California, Usa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

It is one of my preferred places for complete relaxation. First of all, I love Carmel, and second , hotel La Playa has the most spectacular view of the ocean and the gardens. Life is perfect. I like what the restoration did to the hotel. Though the rooms are still unique, I enjoyed all modern updates. Usually I do not eat breakfast; however, I cannot refuse Champagne Breakfast Buffet while admiring the breathtaking ocean and garden views. After the day full of leisure events like golfing and shopping, I like to relax and sip on a cocktail, and indulge myself on great appetizers. What a perfect place.

Room Tip: King room with the ocean view is
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

A most beautiful hotel, near the ocean, with friendly helpful staff. We've gone there for many years and always enjoyed it. Under new management, there are some changes. The staff is friendlier, but the former staff were on the sidewalk outside protesting the loss of their jobs. That concerned us, even though we appreciated the readiness of current staff to respond to our requests. The restaurant is closed although they still serve some food in the bar. We missed being able to eat there, and hope the restaurant will reopen. We love the buildings, the architecture, the abundance of flowers, the welcoming fire in the fireplace and the ambiance, so we will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 00Iris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Every room is different and that is the charm. Beautifully landscaped grounds with flowers everywhere. Immaculate and just renovated. The room's flat screen was rather small though and the bathroom has virtually no counter space and was small. But then I had a small room. I could see the ocean from my room (3rd Floor). No elevators - the lobby is on the second floor so it was only one flight up. Only a 16 space parking lot, so you are parking on the street, but this hotel is set in the middle of a residential neighborhood. The neighborhood is safe - avg home price around $2 million. Food was good and tends to the gourmet side. Hotel was very quiet and you could hear the ocean from your room. Within walking distance to the quaint village of Carmel and all it's shopping and dining.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TKD1BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Property: La Playa Carmel
Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#2 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Playa Carmel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing