We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, service and views”
Review of La Playa Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Playa Carmel
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I had an ocean view room on the 4th floor of this hotel for a weekend in July. It was heavenly waking up to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach, and the view was gorgeous, too.

This place has an ideal location -- its walking distance into the cute shops in town, and to the beach, which is gorgeous.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the beds were nice and cozy -- an all-around great hotel! The grounds are beautiful too, with pretty gardens, a swimming pool and an oversized chess board. I'd go back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
There are newer reviews for La Playa Carmel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 895 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

I just came back from a fantastic weekend getaway at the La Playa. I stayed there when I was young and have so many wonderful memories of playing in the pool. The new owners did a marvelous job of renovating it to its former glory. The decor is tasteful, up to date, classic and unpretentious. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and homey. (Chocolates on the pillows are not a lost art!) I had an ocean view room and could hear the waves crashing on the shore. Not shabby! The breakfast was delicious, accented with ocean views and an outdoor firepit. The close proximity to town and the ocean was a major plus and definitely an added value to the hotel. They also offer shuttle service around Carmel which I found to be a wonderful amenity. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AKN90291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights at this luxurious hotel. The La Playa is under new ownership/management and everything is newly remodeled. We were treated like royalty. The staff was informative -- be sure to ask them about the history of this hotel as it was built in 1909. It was great to see the original artwork lining the halls. From our room we could not only hear the surf, but see the waves crashing on the shore. We were lucky to wake up to sunshine and a wonderful breakfast in the dining room overlooking the ocean and courtyard gardens. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor with on ocean view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank siobhanteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed here with my husband after the remodel and we had a great experience. The amenities are new, yet the quintessential feel of Carmel is still there.... The service was top notch... They have a shuttle that will take you anywhere in Carmel and back - great touch! The included breakfast has great variety -- lox, boiled eggs, cheese, fruit, breads and an omelet station..

The views are spectacular, walk to the beach, watch sunset from your room or the courtyard filled with beautiful flowers .. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marianna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The newly renovated Lay Playa carmel is an old classic updated to modern luxury standards. The hotel is charming, but the service is absolutely incredible, they are just so nice, so helpful, and the word "no" does not exist in their vocabulary. very happy to escape to this slice of heaven from time to time.

Room Tip: Room 315 has perfect views of the ocean.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel was the perfect base for a Carmel,Big Sur and Monterey Photography Vacation.It reminds me of a different era- a classic timeless property with all the modern amenities.The staff was unobtrusive and gave all the privacy I wanted- but they were there for help with dinner resvations and trip planning when I wanted it.They just opened after a renovation.My room was beautiful and the view was great.The Gardens are truly inspirational,Great pool.Breakfast is great and the Bartender Joe was a standout.I will be going back

Room Tip: Corners Have a great view of the gardens
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ghostdancin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Apparently this hotel just went through a complete renovation and they did a phenomenal job. They kept some of the original antiques and artwork and combined them with one of the most comfortable mattresses I've ever slept on. The grounds are just beautiful- flowers, pool area, courtyards and the staff was fantastic.

A very unique homemade breakfast is included in the rate and is served on a terrace with an ocean view! We walked about a block down the hill and were on a beautiful beach and were able to walk maybe a half mile to Pebble Beach and watch the golfers.

I only wish we had more time to enjoy all this charming hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hard2please9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.2 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
583 reviews
4.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#2 Business Hotel in Carmel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $352 - $912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Playa Carmel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing